Poets logo

4:04

am

By Mark R. CieslakPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
4:04
Photo by Camille Minouflet on Unsplash

Closing eyes after closing time

A brown bottle stares back determined.

The buskers are singing in the streets outside.

The rain drifts sideways not obeying.

My little space warmed by a heater,

Its nearly four and

I

no nearer

Rest or comfort.

Oh, this soiled soul.

Poor me.

Only one to ever suffer their heart.

Poor pompous me.

The first ever to fall apart.

This origami boy tore so easily.

The singer continues to sing,

The rain continues to rain.

The little storm of no requite continues to haunt my little but warm respite.

I look sideways at the bottle.

Shall we dance again?

For Fun
2

About the Creator

Mark R. Cieslak

"Our lives are madness. Trying so hard to make moments, take moments. Nothing but pianos in a storm."

"I hear the singing."

"What singing? You never said..."

"Ah boy, what singing indeed."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    Hi Mark - So glad I've just discovered your marvelous talent. By using the word "Buskers" I just want you to know that our 'Mutual' friend Rachel is teaching me 'Brit'~'merican translations - ProBono - But, I'm a slow learner...ask her! *I've subscribed with pleasure as I scroll through your eclectic presentations. Jay, Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    The wallow of self-pity and its erstwhile companion, alcohol. I like the tag "For fun". Wondered if there was something ironic there? I liked the way you poked fun at "yourself" which shows a self-awareness, even if it is a bit of a gloomy poem with the rain and the brown bottle.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    A lovely little sink into late night lows.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.