Poets logo

The Best Worst Day

Perhaps

By Mark R. CieslakPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
1
The Best Worst Day
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The Best Worst Day

The truth of serendipity is that it is a moment stuffed with straw and angled mirrors to catch the light

Just right.

The tightest grip so casually around my neck breathing “perhaps”

careless disrepair,

against me,

leaning,

pressing like thin air.

My space broken; an uncomfortable bus jostling and bumping as I feign an indifference and gaze long away.

But my soul twists and the mind makes those sounds like lambs behind the gate.

Again?

Again…goddammit.

gratefully again.

Tremble inside; you have almost found me after all my expert hiding. Counting to 100, children with closed eyes against a tree.

Breath short, hand over mouth…you can’t find me.

Not again.

There is a longing winter within, longer every season.

Hoping more earnestly for spring but I know that is not the…

Deep gulp, bitter air, every memory is Astaire

dancing upon my reason.

Turning, red wheel in motion.

Greeted by vacancy.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Mark R. Cieslak

"Our lives are madness. Trying so hard to make moments, take moments. Nothing but pianos in a storm."

"I hear the singing."

"What singing? You never said..."

"Ah boy, what singing indeed."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This was so beautifully crafted! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.