Poets logo

2am my 8am

For Poppy's Prompts Challenge Thingo

By Paul StewartPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Image created with me and ChatGPT/Dall-E

2am my 8am

darkened solitude

patchwork brain

overacts, interferes

sleep, rest

problems hidden

plain sight

stacked, nested

Babushka dolls

tattered, torn

ripped with

bullet holes

bleeding through

everything

confidence

self-esteem

2am my 8am

craving sunlight

brightness, warmth

dandellions blowing

dew-licked grass

fresh hope

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is my first entry into Poppy's awesome Prompts Challenge thingo. You can find out more about it below.

Here are some other things:

performance poetrysurreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssad poetryMental HealthinspirationalFree Versefact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Ah, this is such an incredible entry! You expressed that feeling so perfectly, and each of the assigned words you just...totally slayed. Gosh, I felt this one. This is a winner in my book.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    🧠 Nice brain! Both in cover image, poetic phrasing and imagery. I guess your brain is alright too!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is really good, and I know exactly what you mean.

  • ROCK 6 months ago

    Love this 2 am quandary; I think Poppy will be quite pleased with your take on her challenge. I really, truly, deeply find your creations addictive.

  • Beautifully done & challenge well met, Paul.

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    The idea of problems being ripped by bullet holes is so innovative and brilliant, that I can’t stop thinking about it. Like you’ve spent so much time obsessing over the problems that they’re decimated, and the energy of the obsessing is akin to bullets. Wow. I love “2am my 8am”; it rings so well and is an entire poem in itself. Gorgeous gorgeous! This is such a fantastic poem, my friend. 🤯

  • Gina C.6 months ago

    I love this, Paul! The "Babushka doll" concept was really a nice, visual touch that adds to the sense of brokeness that hopes to be whole again ❤️

  • I really liked the flow of this and 2am my 8am brilliant. And thanks for the link to Poppy's challenge

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    I love this!! You used all the words so smoothly it felt like the words were taken from this poem!! I was excited about “patchwork brain” but then you used the other words just as masterfully!

  • Oooo, I loved the transition from intense and poignant to optimistic and powerful! 🍩🥐

  • Patchwork mind blowing!!! Love it! I 'emotionally & mentally' scarred my adult sons with your brilliant AI artwork!

  • Mesh Toraskar6 months ago

    Paul, this poem perfectly captures a sense of inner turmoil, isolation, and the yearning for hope and renewal despite the challenges faced! I especially love that glimmer of optimism with 'fresh hope'. Such a great ending! Loved it.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    There's a lot you can do with two words per line. Except confidence is one, and that irked me!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.