Poets logo

28 & Counting

it was the little things

By Rudo Christine GwazePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
28 & Counting
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Counting up the reasons why I fell for you,

1. you didn't want it to be a one-night thing

2. you also love plantain

3. you're cute

4. i adore your dimples

5. you're so sweet and polite

6. you get my humour

7. we like the same music

8. your voice brightens up and you light up when you talk about your little sisters

9. you are creative

10. you understand the importance of seasoning

11. you play bass

12. you used to be in a band

13. you're warm which helps cause I'm cold

14. you work hard

15. you're not afraid of a bit of PDA

16. you're empathetic

17. you made me laugh

18. you're super talented

19. you made me feel comfortable

20. around you I feel safe

21. i opened up to you with ease

22. you accepted me as I was

23. i could be honest with you

24. you trusted me from the get go

25. your compliments made me smile

26. i haven't met any as perfect for me as you

27. you care

28. you make me smile

You're the one who really sees me

And accepts me as I am.

This poem is dedicated to a former lover. Unfortunately our love did not survive the test of time, but these days I am reminded of him and the little things that made me smile whilst we were together.

This is the direction that I wanted our love to go in...

Play me the mixtapes you made for me on that sweet Walkman of yours

Write me a poem on parched paper

Break out the vinyls

And let's dance all night

Just spinning and spinning

Till that static starts/stops ringing

Romance me like a 50s movie

Let's pretend we're going 'steady'

Because if we move to fast

I can easily say I'm not ready

Call me to say goodnight

Text messages just won't do

I want to play that icky game of 'no you hang up' with you

I just want you to romance me

Court me very well

Those sweet vintage gestures

We no longer see today

We'll have a romance of all the ages

A new decade everyday

Let's carve our names in this tree trunk

And keep going strong till it fades away.

I wanted an old school, simple, vintage decorated love, but instead we ended up breaking.

My heart broke

You took the art

Or you took the he

Or maybe you took the whole thing.

Gave that piece of he to someone else,

Took my art and changed it to something else.

I miss my he,

I miss my art.

But then one day it all stopped and I moved on.

She started to grow,

She grew out of old sweaters,

Her jumpers no longer fit

Nor suited her.

She discarded her old socks,

They had holes she couldn't bear.

She grew out of the boys,

Old memories of a tear stained face.

As she grew

Her old self died

Those who didn't want her to change

Cried

Because they had lied

About their purpose in her life.

She is growing

And not looking down

Until her head is in the clouds.

And now I only think about you, here and there. The years will go by and your memory will fade, all it takes is a year.

525,600 minutes

Measuring a year.

Constants,

We measure our lives in constants.

A coffee a day,

A haircut every few weeks,

A friendly gathering a month,

A family gathering a season.

Constants,

What is habitual

We can measure with ease.

Then one day we cease to exist,

But people will remember,

The constants.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Rudo Christine Gwaze

an author who's decent with words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.