Poets logo

12 Years a Slave -Now Free

September 19th 2023 marked 3 years of freedom from a twelve year nicotine addiction. Here’s how I did it;

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
8
12 Years a Slave -Now Free
Photo by El Swaggy on Unsplash

I bought tobacco a beautiful tin, an accessory to glamourise my shameful sin

I had a beautiful lighter that looked rather regal and hand rolled typically with something illegal

I bought my own papers that were organic and thin and kept them all together in that beautiful tin.

It travelled with me everyday, journeyed everywhere, to allay

any slight perceived stress, which at one time was every hour or less.

And like all addicts I thought I was tobacco’s keeper, which is amusing somewhat, given the fear felt when it wasn’t near

It was a gradual opening of my eyes that helped to see my own web of lies

Lies about not smoking all that much, or using it as an emotional crutch

Lies about how it didn’t matter either way

Lies I told myself everyday

Lies about how I enjoyed the taste

Lies about how it didn’t ruin the skin on my face

Lies about how easily I could stop

Lies I told myself in every shop

Until the day I was talking to a friend, about his drug and alcohol addiction again,

I told him if he loved himself, he would take far better care of his health,

I told him if he loved the people around him, he would care for his body again,

I knew I was right, it was easy to see, which is exactly when he turned my words on me,

How can you say that when you still smoke? It’s not much different to an occasional line of coke”

And in that second I knew he was right, I couldn’t escape my own words that night

To consider myself loving I couldn’t continue to smoke, for each time I did, I was triggering others to toke

I burst into tears because in that moment I knew, I finally had to face this absolute truth

Smokers aren’t truly loving - it’s not possible to be, for it’s a form of self harm that others can see

And monkeys do what monkeys see, monkeys copy so easily

So whether I trigger a friend or a stranger, I had to accept I was encouraging others towards danger,

And what of children that watch me inhale? The thought of that made me severely pale

That’s not love, it’s not even close, so I now had to choose which I valued the most

The tobacco or my value of love, it wasn’t even a choice when push came to shove

And since that night I’ve never smoked it again, I had too much to lose and nothing to gain

And I thank my past self in every way, for doing that hard work that I benefit from today

I had used a vape to transfer the addiction, after two weeks removed the nicotine to kill that affliction,

I would occasionally smoke a blue lotus roll, if cravings were desperate and I was scared to fall

and after two months of inhaling sweet glycerin vapour, suddenly I was awakened to this insane caper

I still remember my utter confusion, why was I inhaling this strange infusion?

no longer under nicotines grip, everything in my life began to flip,

So on that day, I threw my vape away

And that’s the story of why I stopped smoking, and how I got free of the nicotine potion

inspirationalsocial commentarylove poemshow to
8

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • anu shani7 months ago

    Congratulations!! 🎊 Read my story

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    Wow!! I’m so impressed and so glad that you were able to break free!❤️❤️

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    This is a great story and important message in verse! Congrats on kicking the habit Kayleigh!! ☺️👏👏👏

  • Piyumi Maleesha7 months ago

    I kissed my first boy and smoked my first cigarette on the same day. I haven’t had time for tobacco since. 😊

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    As usual...you top trump yourself! well done, first of all for breaking free of the addiction! your story, and poem are inspirational filled with wisdom! I love how artistic the poem is! Well done!

  • I'm so glad that you friend turned your words on you. That was the wake up call that you needed! Getting over a 12 year addiction ain't easy but you put in the effort and made it possible! So proud of you my friend! Here's to 3 years of freedom and many more years to come!

  • Mohammed Darasi7 months ago

    Great poem, and a great story. Hopefully it can help someone that needs it 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.