Poets logo

100 Haikus

A lot said, in few words…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 4 months ago 3 min read
2

Okay, I will try to make this short, but I’m still learning…

One of the most therapeutic experiences for me last year was writing haikus. So, I want to send a big thank you to Vocal for that random discovery! Often my life pushes me to speak in front of classrooms, sing in front of crowds, or express my feelings in half an hour or longer speeches. And, though I love what I do as a teacher, artist, and mentor it can still be exhausting reaching for thousands of words to say to others. Haikus have become an opportunity for me to pick a frame or moment, and try to capture that as precise as I can for myself. Still a challenge of finding what I want to say. But. Less words, and more focus on what I really feel and think. Not entirely just what I want others to feel and think.

By the end of 2023, I had almost 40 Haikus that made me extremely proud. The process sometimes ended in a short 10 minute writing session, and sometimes a little longer. But, I tried to always finish in one sitting and in one day. If it didn’t come to me, I let it go and allowed that thought to be free. Life is constantly asking us to reach deadlines, stay committed, and fixate on things we probably don’t need. This writing process was my opportunity to reflect and think, but also walk away with no guilt. No harping on about how imperfect the lines are, or how I should’ve or could’ve done better. And no disappointment for not finishing or letting others down. So, I want to do that more…

Dear 2024,

I have a couple simple plans for us as a team:

1. I will write 100 or more haikus about whatever comes to mind or how I’m feeling. I will post these to Vocal, but not only with an intention to win a challenge or notoriety. My haikus will be a sign that I reflected, meditated, and or allowed myself to be unapologetically me. My artistic self without an obligation to an audience. Just me. If I can do that at least twice a week, I think that’s very healthy.

2. I will make sure that there will be no ranking of my haikus based on likes and comments, artistic style, subject matter, or subjective numbers. But, at the end of 2024, I will read through each haiku and observe how much I’ve grown and expressed as a writer and person. Because that’s what I feel is truly important. Growing, reflection, and self-love.

If you’ve never wrote haikus and you’re reading this, I recommend you give it a chance. But, if it’s not your favorite or the same experience as mine, I hope that you find your way of giving yourself grace and love while expressing yourself. This can be done by journaling, other forms of poetry, playing an instrument, exercising, and more. You deserve time to be yourself and be with yourself without the pressure of the world.

“This year I want less...

Less fillers, less rambling

And more intention...”

Happy New Year everyone!

Sorry for rambling. I’m working on it…

inspirationalMental HealthHaiku
2

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • TK Cummings3 months ago

    Such a cool goal. Both reading and creating haikus is very satisfying. I have a friend who does tine paintings with his haikus, which I thought was also interesting (small poem, small painting). Good luck this year!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I love your headline haiku here, love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.