Poets logo

I Just Love You More

A Villanelle

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
2
I Just Love You More
Photo by Henri Pham on Unsplash

I just love you more

I give you caring apologies and flowers

The tears just pour

Your hurt inside begins to soar

I dishonor your request to cry alone for hours

I just love you more

I sit next to you on the floor

I call you strong, you call me coward

The tears just pour

I pick your meds up from the store

I can’t remember the last time I showered

I just love you more

Today we danced, like we did before

Your heart says we’re fine, your mind’s shouting louder

The tears just pour

In sickness and health, you’re mine and I’m yours

During the sweetest moments, and the days of sour

I just love you more…

The tears just pour…

heartbreaklove poems
2

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor4 months ago

    This hit home! Fantastic villanelle! ❤

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    This is well done. I'm not loving villanelles but I think.this one is pretty good actually.

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Relatable. Nice poem, Alexis.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.