Poets logo

#1

Love is Not Fast

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in From Across the Room Challenge
10

I don't believe in love at first sight,

but the honey warm glow of your eyes,

makes me wish that I did.

There is a space above your lip

like a bowl.

A dimple I could drink from,

If I were brave.

There is a scar on your palm,

without origin,

that tickles when you put your hands on the curve of my stomach.

I don't believe in love at first sight,

but I remember the shine of your teeth under a flashing light-

and the silhouette of your nose.

And the sharp click of your bones when you stretch away the day,

and the smell of your hair fresh from the shower.

And I wish I did.

I don't believe in love at first sight,

but I know that it can stretch,

and that time is not a river,

but an ocean.

And I know that the folds of skin at the corner of your eyes,

when you smile,

they hold the purest joy.

So perhaps when I hold your hand and squeeze it tight,

I can go back and love you at the start.

love poems
10

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson26 days ago

    Spectacular love poem!!!♥️♥️💕 Love this and a belated congrats on Top Story!!!

  • One that I had missed, I can't believe a challenge placement only has nine hearts and four comments. Lovely words.

  • Cathy holmes27 days ago

    This is simply beautiful. Belated congrats on the placement.

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    Wow! You just got a new subscriber.

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Rather sweet...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.