Poets logo

00:59

A Poem

By Hayley Stokes Published 7 months ago 1 min read
1
(Original Photo)

00:59

Sitting at the bottom of the glass,

I listen to the tinkling grains of sand,

as they rain over top of me

Slowly, they are filling the bottom

Once I could walk over them,

but now I wade through the knee-deep sand sea

I build a mound and stand atop,

watching in horror as the grains fall

In less than an hour, they will swallow me

My mound grows much too small,

and I climb my way to the narrow neck of the bottle

to escape the hour moving too quickly

But the sand is still raining,

and I am still climbing,

to reach the top of the rim to be free

The sandy beads are pulling me underneath,

trying to drag me under and suffocate me

My time is slowly waning

This is my final hour

If I don’t make it out now,

I will be lost to the depths of eternity

I scrape myself up the sides of the glass

Each second may be the last

The sand falling into my eyes; I can’t see

My hand reaches the top of the bottle now

I am just about the pull myself out

when the sand stops falling…

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Hayley Stokes

Reader, Writer, and Reviewer.

Please consider following my bookstagram @book.dreamblog

Book review blog at: https://bookdreamblogbookreviews.blogspot.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER7 months ago

    This is brilliant... took my mind to another dimension. Kudos! ⏳

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.