Photography logo

Short Rest on the Reeds

Timothy Nagornyi

By Timothy NagornyiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
A bird takes a short break, resting on a reed.

It was a warm spring day, almost summer, and I was biking around my small town. Birds were chirping, nature finally waking up from its yearly slumber, when I noticed the day had a glowing quality to it. Light shimmered and weaved through branches of trees with their rich green leaves, still young and bright. I had a sudden spark of inspiration, and I realized what I needed to do.

I rushed home, the gears of my bike clanging together, only stopping to cross. I exploded through the front door and hurriedly grabbed my camera, which was almost as old as me. I hung the strap of the camera over my neck, and as soon as I got on my bike and began pushing the pedals, I realized I severely underestimated, or ignored entirely, the difficulty that would be biking with a camera hanging in the wind. It seemed that no matter how I biked, slow or fast, knees out or in, the camera would swing around, hitting my knees after each pedal. Eventually, I developed a technique where I would string around my neck and loop it over my arm. This way, it had no room to swing but it was still uncomfortable nonetheless.

At that point, I was still contemplating where to go to capture the sun’s beauty. My mind went to one place: behind the local pond. It is a peaceful spot, hidden by tall orange trees and the reeds which grow in the water. In the center, a bench, decorated by two hand carved peacocks on either side. An alcove from the suburbia which surrounds it.

I rested the bike against its kickstand and hung my helmet over it. I took out my camera, a Nikon D5000 with a variable lens which went from 55-200 mm, and sat on the bench. I didn’t expect to see much wildlife at first, but I imagined that as I sat there the squirrels and birds would become accustomed to my presence. I was hopeful. It took about 40 minutes, but eventually the birds began to return to their routines. However, my impatience got the best of me, and I began to frame my shots too early. Once again the birds retreated to their homes in the greenery, poking their heads out occasionally, only to disappear again.

I decided to rework my strategy. I took photos from the bench, but was careful not to get too close. As I implemented it, I saw success. Birds began to swoop through the reeds, calling out to each other. I saw birds that I had never seen before. Birds with wings of bright orange and deep reds, birds with ruffled manes of white and brown, and before I knew it they were okay with me coming closer to better frame my shots.

I saw a single bird hanging on a stray reed. It was one of the birds decorated with a ruffled white and brown mane. It was away from the bunch, and the lush scenery enveloped it. As soon as I saw it, I had a feeling it would be my best shot of the day. I was careful not to create too much noise, and over the course of a few minutes I stepped close enough to take a good shot. I focused my camera and took the photo as soon as I could. As if it was waiting, it took off as soon as I was done.

I rushed back to my bike to review the photo. I’m not sure what it was about it, but I could already tell it would be one of my favorites. I strung the camera over my neck and looped it around my arm once again, and rode home. I’m sure I must’ve missed another potential photo, but I was excited to get home and edit this one. I spent a while in Lightroom, tweaking barely noticeable features, to get it just how I wanted it. I knew when I was done, it felt right. When I look at this photo, I am proud of the patience and effort that got me it. A single bird on a reed.

art

About the Creator

Timothy Nagornyi

Howdy!

I'm Tim, a hobbyist photographer.

I enjoy nature and people.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Timothy NagornyiWritten by Timothy Nagornyi

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.