Photography logo

Oh, My Dear Beluga!!

Picture of the day!!

By Tanushree JainPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Beluga Whale by Tanushree Jain

Surreal! Unbelievable! That is how marine life is. Ever imagined a variety of species living together underwater without any boundaries. Seas and oceans hold the most colorful treasure beneath the so-called blue and transparent waters.

Today, 08-June-2021, on World Ocean Day, I share the most loved Beluga Whale picture that is very close to my heart. However, I was never a water baby, and even today, the shower is the limit.

Interestingly, Dolphins and Beluga Whales are my only favorites, whereas some sea creatures freak me out. But, in the Maldives, I lost my heart to the beautiful ocean life. The view with the clear water was breathtaking.

I was in South Korea when I second time experienced marine life. The Seogwipo Submarine, in Jeju Island, took us through the underwater sea life view. Honestly, I was a little nervous when I got into the submarine, but as we submerged, I was spellbound to see the colorful sea life, which was a treat to watch. I remember there were pretty corals all around, jellyfishes, and the colorful fishes passing by.

Moreover, after these exciting experiences, I got so fascinated with marine life that I made sure to visit the aquariums in Seoul. I went to the aquarium in the Coex Mall. It was a small one, but a beautiful one.

Furthermore, I am about to share one of the best aquarium experiences. At the start of my pregnancy, we made a list of places we would visit during my "babymoon." The aquarium in the Lotte World Tower was at the top of my list.

The Lotte World Tower in Seoul is the fifth tallest building in the world. This gorgeous tower is a getaway destination in itself, with a shopping mall on one side and an amusement park on the other. I remember going inside the mall in the morning, getting out by evening, and leaving more than half of the tower untouched.

I was extremely excited to visit the Lotte World Aquarium, which was on the itinerary for so long. As we entered the aquarium, we couldn't wait to see everything that it had for us. We kept going and came across the creatures I never knew existed. Moving ahead, we were amazed to see the water tank, which is the largest in Korea with varieties of fishes from all around the world.

To our surprise, we felt vibrations and the floor shaking in intervals as we kept moving. Thudding!! Thudding!! And there we came to the grand view of Beluga Whale. Oh My God! I could see it coming down straight from up and taking a big round around the side where all of us were adoring it with our eyes wide open.

How amazing the Beluga looked? I have no words to describe. It kept swimming alongside the glass with a side-eye at us. It looked like the Beluga whale was having its happy time with all the visitors and was more excited to see the kids. We kept our hand on the glass, and it came near our hands like taking a pat. I spent about 30-45 minutes enjoying this humongous Beluga doing its things. It flipped, whistled, and kept making noises keeping us all glued to them.

We kept on capturing all that it did. What a sight it was to see it flipping up and down! The whole floor went on vibration mode when the Beluga showed its flip moves. We wanted to capture everything, which was a task to put the gigantic buddy in the frame. Having said this, it was not as hard because it cooperated so well that I have some lovely shots with it. And it was this when it went to the center and posed in the proper moon pose. Having the camera 'on' all the time for sure fetched us this supermodel click.

When going through the pictures from the visit, we could not believe how this Beluga whale picture turned out to be perfect, even with the minimum light. It needed no edit. The lights in the aquarium are not bright, and the use of flashlights is prohibited as it can bother the fish. With care, caution, and of course, with a digital camera, we could click this beauty that I am so happy to share with you all!

art
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.