Photography logo

My Dove Teacher

wild encounters

By DolphingirlPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
a moment in time

Throughout human history and in many cultures, the dove is often known as the symbol of peace, bringing a promise of innocence, love, and renewal back into existence.

It was during a dark period of my life that I hoped this myth, teaching, and legend was true. I had become homeless from circumstances beyond my control, and the more I tried to "fix it," the worse it became. Constant unpredictable circumstances, health issues, turmoil and sleepless nights, lost work, and things definitely not making sense.

I longed for a return to normalcy as I slowly pieced my broken life back together again.

As part of my self-therapy, I would travel across island on two or more public buses, and if there was room, attach my pedal bike on the outside in a two-slot bike rack. I told myself, if I could just find a beachside area I could rest for a while, that would make everything else alittle bit better, or atleast more tolerable.

I finally discovered a local beach with a large native almond tree, and under the shade, my existence transformed into “a dove life.”

With the only camera I owned existing inside my mobile Samsung Galaxy phone, I began to take images of my experiences with these amazing beach birds.

Birds who many called pigeons, yet to me, they were the promise of peace.

After taking a dip into the sea with my snorkel gear, I spent the rest of the early afternoon or sunset hours doing one thing, observing.

These large wild doves, along with the sparrows, and occasional cardinals inhabited the Maui coastlines by day, some living in the lava rock cliffs by night, while others flew off into the skies at sunset.

In a few weeks, the birds started to recognize me, even with a sense of welcoming… well, maybe sharing my raw sunflower seeds from the health foods store helped, and my feelings of loss, grief, and shame started to dissipate.

They began to be my teacher, showing me their subtle behavior of courtship, rest, interactions of play, and then remarkable revealing their community, as if they were inviting me in. Without having to say much, I listened to the doves’ cooing, and started to mimic them. A vocal repetition softly in the back of my mouth and throat area. They nestled close by my towel, and we began our divine, yet earthly friendship.

Just by sharing a few seeds with them, I discovered that doves were possibly the first farmers, tilling the soil (and sand), as well as carrying seeds across the lands. Regeneration for our planet, and for our lives.

Secondly, I developed a trust with them. They instinctively knew it was safe to be around me. I made it easier for them by gathering sticks when I arrived, and created a perimeter of inserted branches vertically into the sand. All the beach birds recognized this “safe zone” for them to eat, clean their beaks, and chase one another. Primarily, the male pigeons would posture their tails in an upward style and dance-hop to get the lady birds interested, and possibly in the mood for mating.

They do have mates, and I started to identify the ‘couples.’ Some were peaceful, others seemed to always be in activity or flight, while others had opposition to their love nest. I thought, reflecting so much similarities to our humanly behaviors.

On more than one occasion, I did need to defend my new found family.

Not everyone viewed the wild beach doves as the “sign of peace and promise.” In fact, most beach goers called them pigeons and pests, shooing them away, allowing their dogs and children to chase after them, and then tragically, throwing sand towards them, when an easy wave of the arm would have compelled the doves to fly away.

To reflect the dove’s nature, I started to share my “dove images” from my phone to visitors and locals alike. Hoping to not only show their beauty, yet also, help change the minds of humans into conservation and caring for them. Many of our conversations included, “Did you know this is their home?” “The birds have been living here for over 25 years, so really we are the visitors.” And, “If you extend your arm out like a tree branch, the doves will come land on you.” When those chance happenings occurred, not only were minds changed for the better, their hearts as well.

This image from my Samsung Galaxy Note 4 camera phone took place inches from my towel underneath the beach almond tree.

I then later sent it to my computer and cropped the left portion of “the dove and dog” to possibly sell as prints. These images have minimal editing and not been photoshopped, I don’t have that app.

"amazing"

Each time I return to this peticular beach, or another coastal shoreline, I consider every wild encounter a gift of love.

art
2

About the Creator

Dolphingirl

"Sharing stories, science, art, and soul in promoting planetary care and peace!"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.