Photography logo

Capturing Cats On Camera (Phones)

Another Update From My Daily Encounters With My Feline Friends

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
7

Introduction

I go out walking every day and most days I see cats that, if the opportunity arises I take photographs of. These are just some random observations on that fact and an excuse to share some more pictures with you, although most are shared on Instagram with the #CatsofVocal hashtag like below.

And also on the Cats of Vocal page on Facebook which you can visit here.

Taking Pictures

As I am so old I remember taking pictures with film and having to wait weeks to find out if the pictures you took were any good, although there were instamatic cameras that gave you an instant photograph but was an expensive option.

Then came digital, but it took a long time for digital to catch up with film for picture quality. So I got a digital camera and then phones had cameras, and again it was a while for quality to become acceptable, although phones did provide a convenience factor.

I have a digital camera with a 16x optical zoom and was shocked when I was looking for a replacement for one I lost at the cost of cameras which were going to be around £300 for what I wanted, however, a second hand one from Music Magpie which had the features I was looking for was a mere £35 with a twelve-month guarantee, so like with my phone I get great value from refurbished models with a guarantee,

I use the camera for shots when I am on holiday, especially distant landscape shots, but on my daily walks my Google Pixel 4XL is more than adequate, in fact, it is excellent. Although there is no optical zoom there is a digital zoom and the resolution is so good now that almost every picture I take is worth sharing.

My phone connects to Google pics, so when I take them they are almost immediately available online, which I can then access from my computer.

When I started this piece it was going to be a Petlife post, but I think it has metamorphosed into a Photography post but the next section is very feline related.

To Catch A Cat On Camera

A Typical Cat Pose

A lot of the time I will see a cat in the distance, and I take an initial shot in the hope that I can at least capture something. This was particularly difficult because there was someone washing up by the window in a cul-de-sac, and I didn't know if it was their cat or not. If people are out of doors then I will chat with them and find out about their cat but this time I didn't have that option.

The Look

The cat did look round at me but I didn't move any closer as I thought he might have run off.

Baleful Glare

This one glared balefully at me before deciding to run off and sit behind a dirty mattress

At A Safe Distance

There is no reason for cats to trust humans they don't know, and I have had to have words with many teens who were tormenting cats, but I probably get a thirty-three / thirty-three / thirty-three split of cats that run away, cats that pose and cats that want pampering.

Chat Poseur

This one just sat and looked at me, a typical feline poseur. I do get quite a lot of those and then go and share them with my audience on Social Media, usually to a good response.

If you check out the Instagram posts you will also see a lot of videos as well of the ones that play with me. that hunt me down and sometimes run away from me.

Conclusion

This did turn out to be more about photography than cats, but I hope you enjoyed the pictures I shared.

Thank you for reading

how tocamera
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Cats sure know how to make you feel their presence 😍Enjoyed the read and picture. Very engaging story

  • Really liked this. We have three cats. Also liked the Facebook page. The pics were great

  • Deasun T. Smyth11 months ago

    Great job, the pictures made me smile. Love all the cat poses, and the names for each. Well done sir.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Wonderful photography story!!!💖💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.