Petlife logo

You're Nobody Until You've Been Ignored By A Cat

Very Often Cats Act Judgemental And Disdain Me

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 15 days ago Updated 15 days ago 3 min read
11
Two Cats Ignoring Me

Introduction

I am currently reading the excellent "The Pie At Night" by Stuart Maconie and he mentions that he has a homemade fridge magnet that he bought from a craft fair somewhere in Lakeland that has a wooden cat with googly eyes that states "You're Nobody Until You've Been Ignored By A Cat" and that is something that happens to me very often, so it would imply that I am not Nobody.

And So A Few More Cats

I also saw this as an opportunity to share more of the pictures of cats that I meet on my walk. Some are running away, so just sit and pose and some demand petting and treats.

I do like that cats decide what they want to do and have a t0tal independence. Today has been cold and windy and I just saw two cats out and the rest were warm inside.

I am lucky that I live in an area where cats can wander where they want in total safety, even though some do reside on a busy main road.

This is one of the extremely disdainful looks that I got today. It is almost as though he thinking of me:

"What a stupid human, it is cold and windy and he is wandering aimlessly outside being battered by the elements, while I am inside toasty warm"

Cats do know what is best for them, but I do find it amazing how some will come to me demanding petting and treats while others run like hell to get away from me.

This one ran and hid under a car, but was very visible to me. He was in the open, but when I tried to get a picture he shot under a car, where he obviously felt I couldn't get to him, and felt much safer. I was not trusted by this one.

This one looks very unimpressed with me with a "What are you looking at" stare. He wasn't frightened of me, and was obviously comfortably judgemental as he sat giving me that glare.

When you look at a lot of these photographs, you would think that cats didn't like me and always ran away from me, they don't but one day they can be like this then the following day they can be very friendly.

This is Tom, I had initially christened him Dirk, but then was told what his real name was. This is a previous piece that featured him, though the lead picture looks like he is telling me off.

These are the two that were ignoring me in the lead image for this piece. As I said their moods can vary from day to day.

I don't own a cat and I never will do, because I like my own space to be for me. If I did get a cat, the cat would not be living in my space, I would be living in the cat's space and I could not do that. I feel the same about all pets. My neighbours have a cat and fish, which I am fine to look after but I could not take care of them permanently.

One more, guarding their territory, making sure that trespassers like myself stay at a distance.

This one glared at me from a porch roof, proving that cats can lie about wherever they want. They are lords and ladies of these Novocastrian neighbourhoods.

Conclusion

I have definitely been ignored by cats many times, but most of the time they take at least a bit of notice of me, and do provide me with much entertainment on my walks out.

photographycat
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll14 days ago

    This was a fun read story. I love your caption for the first picture 🥰😂I hope you enter it in the Just A minute Challenge.

  • The Dani Writer14 days ago

    That was a wonderful journey to read! And then...I got to the end and realised I wasn't signed in. Arrrgh!!! Hope to rectify that soon... Cats teach us so much about the power we have, personal space, and boundaries. They teach perfect lessons about NOT settling, NOT being able to make up your mind, and NOT bloody well caring. All those lessons in context can come in so handy sometimes. Gotta love 'em

  • "If I did get a cat, the cat would not be living in my space, I would be living in the cat's space and I could not do that." Hahahahahahahhaahha that made me laugh so much! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Thank you for this. I loved having a cat for 15 years! I'm allergic now so can't have one! She definitely owned the place.😉

  • Call Me Les15 days ago

    Lol cats can be jerks. I don't know why we love them so much 😂 Great article

  • Lindsay Sfara15 days ago

    Just like my two cats at home. They don't care unless they want something from me, like food. This is a fun story!

  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    Mine is quite judgemental as well. Attitude is ingrained in them.

  • Anna 15 days ago

    Omg, yes, cats are totally judging!!😅

  • Christy Munson15 days ago

    Funny! Delightful idea for a story. I am a Nobody too. My brother's cat did the honors, again and again. I like most cats but that one (my he rest) was evil. He probably had every right to be as he was a rescue and who knows what his story might have been. But he definitely ignored me when he wasn't trying to rip my head off, and I think that counts.

  • Caroline Jane15 days ago

    I have 2 cats. One is thoroughly affectionate and approaches everyone the other, his brother, is scared of his own shadow. Cats will be cats. 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.