Petlife logo

When Love Came In The Form Of A Dog

A story about how a dog from a shelter came into our home and into our hearts

By Olivia DellPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
When Love Came In The Form Of A Dog
Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

It all started back when I was a sixteen years old. I was currently in band that a group of friends from school and I had formed about half a year prior and lived in Southern California. Honestly we were just a bunch of misfits and outcasts who had bonding together over our common love of music and had eventually decided to do something about it. So like I mentioned earlier, we formed a band. But unfortunately, we didn’t have anywhere to practice at home so with that being said, we had to venture out and find our own space to practice. And boy, did we ever. Far off in the land known as the San Fernando Valley, we scraped together enough money to buy a small building that we called our “band house” and although it wasn’t exactly the nicest of homes, it was ours and that’s all that mattered.

Not only did we have a place to play our music but we also had a bathroom to shower in and kitchen to eat in and we even made a room full of bunk beds to occasionally sleep in whenever we needed to. And honestly, we made some of the best memories there. But, I felt like something was missing to complete our little family. And I realized, what would make it absolutely perfect was what many families needed: a dog.

Now I had always had a love for animals, I had grown up with them in my own home. So, one day I decided to take a trip down to the closest animal shelter to see if there was one that I hopefully was able to find that I most connected with that I knew would be just right for the place. I swear, I must’ve spent what felt like hours in that shelter! Walking up and down those aisles past dog after dog in all shapes and sizes of all breeds and ages. Personally, I wanted nothing more than to take them all home with me but of course that wasn’t possible. So I knew I had to make sure I chose the right one. But sadly, it seemed like none of them were going to be the right one and I was beginning to lose hope. And then, just as I was about to leave that’s when I saw him. He was a two year old blue nose pitbull with a jet black fur coat, white chest, and the sweetest face that you have ever scene. I asked to be let inside with him so I could personally meet him up close and thankfully the staff member agreed.

He was of course wary of me when I first approached him but with a little gentle coaxing and encouragement he finally made his way towards me and was the most gentle dog I had ever met. I looked into his eyes and all I could see was love, and right then and there I knew that he was perfect. So, I took the necessary actions in order to adopt him and once everything was handled and paid for, I took him back to our band house giving him ear scratches and kisses the whole way there.

Upon arrival I made the announcement in front of everyone. Eric was a little wary about the whole thing at first until I eventually got him to come around to the idea, but Ryan and Sarah were ecstatic. Sarah practically squealed with delight the moment I brought him into the room. We all agreed to take turns feeding him, and taking him out for walks, and what not. And soon as everybody was on board we got together the necessary purchases. Two bowls, each for his food and water, a big comfy dog bed for him to sleep in, and of course tons of toys and treats. Now came the really hard part: deciding what to name him. We all came up with lots of great names and admittedly a few not so great ones. But unfortunately none of them seemed to fit him! But we decided that after spending more time with him and seeing what his personality was like we were sure we would come up with a good name.

The rest of the day we spent all of our time with him. Playing with him, giving him treats, and of course showering him with love and affection. And thankfully he soon opened up and was not only exhibiting signs of happiness and feeling safe with us but also it felt like he seemed grateful that he had been adopted by a good family. Eventually it was beginning to get late, and after a night of dinner, video games, and lastly a movie with him taking turns cuddling up with each of us on the couches, we decided to all crash in the bunk beds. Besides, we knew that our dog was going to have to stay at the band house and we also practically lived there as well, but nonetheless we all wanted to keep him company on his first night in a new home.

Ryan and I were the last ones awake and eventually I grew tired and headed off to the bedroom, but as soon as I opened the door and looked inside I saw the most interesting sight. I didn’t wish to wake up Eric and Sarah or disturb what was happening before my eyes so I called Ryan’s name in a whisper and silently motioned for him to come over. “What? What is it?” He whispered back once he joined me in the doorway, and I pointed to what I was staring at.

We both watched perplexed at what our new dog was doing. Sarah and Erik were sleeping cuddled up to one another in bed, and our pitbull was sitting on the floor by their bed with his head on Eric’s chest staring up at the both of them with the sweetest most loving look on his face. Suddenly it dawned on us, he was watching over them! We absolutely couldn’t believe it. This beautiful soul had already bonded with us so fiercely that he was seemingly completely protective and loyal. It was in this exact moment that I folded my arms and I nudged Ryan and told him that I knew what to name him.

I told him that I wanted to name him Argus, after the mythological being. When he asked why I simply smiled and without taking my eyes off the wonderful sight in front of me I said, “Every name has a meaning. The meaning behind the name Argus is: watchful guardian.” I looked at Ryan and I swear he had the biggest smile on his face and said, “That name is perfect for him, Argus it is.”

End

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Dell

Hello everyone! My name is Olivia but everyone calls me Bonez. I'm currently 24 years old and I live in Oklahoma but originally from Los Angeles. Writing is one of my biggest passions and I hope you enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.