Petlife logo

The Wiggling Box

Filled with love.

By Brittany NicolePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mischief The Cuddle Bug

About 6 years ago I saw this tattered brown box on the side of the road. I didn’t think anything of it when driving to work. Honestly, I just rolled my eyes, thinking someone threw it out of their car, and by the time I got to work it had slipped my mind. However, on my way home the box was still there. As I looked and got closer I could see that it was wiggling its way toward the road. With curiosity getting the better of me, I decided to check out the box. When out of my car, I slowly made my way to the moving box peered inside, and discovered that the wiggling box held 9 crying baby kittens.

Who on earth?! was the first thing I could think of, as I bent down and stroked the little kittens trying to get them to stop crying. As soon as my fingers touched the tiny crying babies my mind was instantly made up as I pick up the box and placed it in the front seat next to me. While driving toward my house, a huge realization hit me hard. I have no idea how to take care of a baby kitten, let alone nine screaming ones. So I dialed up one of my friends who was a vet tech.

“I need your help!” these were the first words out of my mouth, and after explaining what was going on she raced over to my house to help, with a bunch of supplies in tow. She was amazing, teaching me how to feed the kittens, how to keep them warm, and so much more.

Half laying on clean towels....

After working with her for about an hour, I realized how much attention these little kittens were going to need, and it wasn’t like I could stay home from work, and I didn’t want to give them up. So as I sat there feeding the kitten that I deemed my favorite, mainly because of her coloring. I came up with a brilliant idea. After getting my boss to agree I packed up the kittens and took them to work with me the next day, and let me tell you, the elementary students instantly fell in love.

It was probably the best thing I could have done. The kittens were getting lots of love, were always fed on time and the kids were careful to make sure they fed them correctly, and they were beyond ecstatic to watch them learn how to walk, see them be able to control their heads and open their eyes. It was also amazing that they wanted to help them learn how to use the restroom.

Taking care of the kittens soon became an entire research project for the 3rd - 5th grade. The students learned all about how kittens develop, how to help them grow and stay healthy, the statistics of homeless cats, and adoptions rates.

She loves kisses!

After caring and learning about the kittens for about a month we started thinking of ideas for an adoption day. Teaching in a small town the community and school was all for it. The students wanted to make sure every kitten found the perfect home, they even came up with their own questionnaire.

This entire process was wonderful and amazing to see how these kittens went from being thrown away to be loved and taken care of. I even adopted one (my favorite), and she turned out to be the most loving thing in the world. I name her Mischief and boy does she live up to her name. She loves the snow, being outside, cuddling, and sleeping right next to me. She is a blanket hog, and if you let her, she will sleep all day on your chest with her face right next to yours, or on towels. She ignores most dogs and is a lover of cheese and ice cream.

I am also happy to report that every year, the elementary school gets a photo update on how all 9 kittens are doing, and all 9 are in wonderful loving homes!

The Stare Down

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Nicole

Hello! If a story that you have read is gone, it's because I am editing or updating it! Don't worry it will be back! Thank you for all your love!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.