Petlife logo

People And Pussycats

Trials, Tribulations And Rewards Taking Pictures For Cats Of Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
10
Sunbathing Cat

Introduction

Today has been quite gorgeous and there are a lot of people about I have been out too walking and stocking up on provisions and I have just realised that I have forgotten to get something that I went out for, some Aldi Salted Caramel Ice Cream lollies, they are gorgeous and perfect for a hot day like today.

Aldi Yummies

Today I saw a few cats but the humans were mostly annoying.

Cat In The Sun

Out On The Streets

One of the problems I have is with non-cat owners. They are the ones who ask me why I am taking pictures of property ( i point out the cats) then they ask if I have the cat owner's permission (I ask who the owner is but they don't know). This often goes on and it is a result of the way society has gone, people do not trust people they don't know, but eventually, I usually convince them that I am OK with what I am doing.

Cat On A Bin

Today there have been a lot of people blocking footpaths with chairs and tables while they drink beer, meaning I have to walk on the road to get around them.

Cat owners on the other hand are really happy for me to take pictures of their cats and share them on social media. Maybe cat owners are naturally more friendly than non-cat owners.

Cat On A Kerb

The Benefits Of Cats

Today I saw a few cats although I did not get too close to any.

They do sometimes demand petting and stroking and food, then other times they run away.

I may be repeating myself here, but cats definitely improve my mental well-being even when they just sit and pose. I have lost count of the number of pictures that I have taken and the number of times that I have played with them.

I have gained a lot of scratches, they weren't trying to hurt me, cats' claws are very sharp and that is a minor price that you pay for the joy of playing with a cat.

Turkey Time

I go out some days and don't see any cats, but that is unusual, most days I see three or four and if I am really lucky they come and play with me, or let me stroke them, and if I know they will be there when I return I get them some tuna or turkey, depending on what is available when I go to the shop.

Cats In Windows

I will sometimes see house cats behind windows keeping warm. Often they actually attack the curtains or blinds as I walk past, not often, and I hope I am not the cause of that. I just have the fun of seeing them play but don't have to deal with the mess that they must cause for their owners.

The Stare

Then again, cats own people, not the other way around. Cat owners are just there to provide for cats until they get opposable thumbs, and I am sure that is not too far away.

Sleepy Cat

You can see how many pictures I get of them on my daily walks. Although the main point of my walk is to exercise, the cats really make it worth my while, going out and really enjoying myself.

I do believe the more cats that I see the better my day will be, and if you follow Cats Of Vocal on Facebook or the hashtag #Catsof Vocal on Instagram you will know just how many I see.

I hope you have enjoyed today's feline adventure with the pictures that I have shared. Let me know which is your favourite in the comments section on this post or on Facebook.

pet foodsocial mediaphotographycat
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Great story and photos, Mike! I love cats and they also make my days. I have two at homes. They are so attached to me that you would think that I birthed them myself! They follow me everywhere around the house. My dogs are the same, but that's because they just want food and walks. LOL!

  • Deasun T. Smyth11 months ago

    Great photos, love the pictures and poses the cats do. But I gotta admit, I'm more of a dog person. 🐶

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    This is lovely and I do enjoy cats, but I can't get too close because I am allergic. Have you seen 'Kedi,' It's a documentary film about the cats of Istanbul. I think you would like it.

  • I’m not a cat lover but love your story. And my favourite picture is black cat sleeping. (The last one).

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Could not resist this story, I am so amused when you met Karen’s on your cat photo hunt. It’s like seeing a little drama show and you just combat them nonchalant. 😊🥳🤗

  • Lol, I too feel humans are annoying. I enjoyed reading this!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Enjoyed the walk and all the cat snaps!!! Well done!!!❤️❤️💕

  • ThatWriterWoman11 months ago

    Awe that's so sweet Mike! I loved scrolling through this! I can't wait until I get a cat of my own!

  • Gal Mux11 months ago

    All those caties look well fed haha. And it's like they pose when you take the pic. Some looking directly at the camera so it seems they themselves have no problem with their picture taken. Dogs are loyal, but cats are independent which is encouraging. I can't wait to own a cat.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.