Petlife logo

Cats In Windows

They Do Like To Look Down On Us

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
7
A Cat In A Window Looking Down On Me

Introduction

As you know from previous posts, I love to meet, take pictures and interact with my feline friends on my walks, but recently the weather has not been good and I have not done many morning walks and have not seen many cats outdoors. There have been a few but mostly it has been ........

Cats In Windows

Cats In Windows

Cats are intelligent and I suppose selfish. They decide what is best for them, and then they try and make sure that they get it.

One thing is that they know to keep out of the cold and wet, generally (I see a few out of their warm accommodation), and decide to preside over their domains from the warmth behind their windows.

This sometimes makes photographing them a little more difficult as you get reflections on the glass that can obscure the cat. Sometimes there may be a house number and in that case, I do not share on Instagram with the #CatsInNam and #CatsOf Vocal hashtags. You may like to visit and follow Cats Of Vocal on Facebook for more feline photography and fun.

Ghost Cat

It was raining and it looks like the black cat in this window is almost a ghost, I didn't do anything with this, it is just the way that it came out.

I do get the impression that cats in windows are looking down at us humans out in the cold and wet and even snow, thinking that we are so below them, but the fact that they actually do this gives me many opportunities to catch them with my camera phone.

The lead image for this piece is a cat that definitely saw me as a subject at best. Absolutely imperious in its attitude, there are many, that I meet when the weather is better, that just sit on their bench, the doorstep, or windowsill and regard me as a little less than an annoyance unless I have something for them.

These are the cats that I have no contact with apart from receiving their disdainful looks through their windows, as no doubt they think of me as just another subject in their domain.

Three Cats In Windows

The good thing is that they always give me an opportunity to take a photograph, and for that, I am very grateful to them. While I do like playing with them when I meet up with them I completely understand why sometimes they prefer to stop inside. Sometimes the weather stops me from venturing outside, and I am too selfish to have a cat of my own, so at times like that I don't get to see any cats.

Worship Me - You Are Mine

The thing is cats do sit and pose, whatever their feelings towards me, while dogs very seldom stay still and birds are very difficult to capture with a camera, you need to have your camera ready the second a bird stops. Cats are a far better subject than almost any other animal to take photographs of.

Ever since I started photographing cats, I have regarded the cat in a window as a second-best type of picture, but as I stated previously that is mainly due to the reflections that I get from the glass, but I have come to like the format just as well although I do not go looking for cats in windows, just cats, and if they are in a window, then that is fine as well.

Conclusion

This will not be my last story about the cats I meet, but if you still have not had enough from me there is another one for you here to enjoy, and the imperious-looking golden coated cat on that bench is called Jackson.

cat
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done, as always. Cute kitties too.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was great! I am such a sucker for a good cat story, I love that it started with the best cat song of all time! Well done! 😻

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Nice. Thank you!😊💕 Loved your "Everybody wants to be a cat" video 👍🏾

  • Great insights 😉❤️

  • Start A Dealsabout a year ago

    Good Collection

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.