Petlife logo

Good deeds can be found anywhere

Even at your local vet clinic

By Hannah York Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Working in the vet field, and in an ER clinic at that, I see a lot of really expensive cases. Animal care in general is expensive, and when emergencies strike, it can be fatal. We see people all the time who want to pull out all the stops to save their pet, but the funds just aren’t there. And I hate it. That’s the worst part of my job; seeing people who love their animals so much but can’t afford to help them when emergencies strike. If I had a dollar for every time I saw it happen, I would be able to pay for all of it.

I had someone call in on emergency hours a couple nights ago when I was working. His pet was having trouble with labor, and it had been way too long since she had passed a baby, and it was getting critical. And then he said the last words I ever want to hear: “I literally have $0 to spend right now.” A c-section is an expensive procedure. It costs the clinic a lot of money, and it’s even more when it’s a case of dystocia and possible sepsis. Telling this owner that we couldn’t help him unless he could come up with at least SOMETHING was the worst part of my night. Of course, emotions got the best of him in this situation, and I took a brutal, verbal beating. But I couldn’t blame him. If I didn’t work in a clinic, I would have found myself in the same position a little over a year ago when my puppy got really sick. I wouldn’t have been able to pay for it if it wasn’t for the benefits of my job. I felt for him so much, and I wanted to start crying on the phone with him. I hated knowing that I couldn’t help him, because believe me, if I was financially able to, I would have donated towards his potential vet bill. Saying no to him broke my heart. I found out my next shift that he was able to find funding from a local animal rescue, and his pet got the care she needed. My heart soared, regardless of how rude he was during the hardest moment he’s had as a pet owner. All because his pet’s name was the same name as the rescue owner. And now his pet is home and recovering from a major, expensive surgery, instead of suffering at home until her body failed.

And we see that sort of things relatively often. Often enough that I can remember a couple cases of it. Most of the times it’s family members that call in later to pay a bill. Sometimes people donate to a gofundme or fundraising page to help owners come up with costs for the care. But sometimes it’s just a random person who may have overheard a conversation. Sometimes people hear someone struggle with a bill for their pets care, and that’s what spurs them make a payment and help them. And they don’t even do it for recognition. Normally they wait until the owner is gone and then ask to put some money towards the bill. We don’t see it with COVID anymore, because people aren’t coming inside or overhearing conversations, but just remembering things like gives me faith in the field.

And it’s spurred me to help out when I can. I haven’t been able to yet, but I know a couple patients who I would love to put a payment towards their bill, even a small one, because I feel for them. The generosity of some clients makes me realize that I can do the same thing. I can help people who otherwise would struggle more than they deserve to, simply because an accident happened and their pet needed extra care. When I put myself in their position, I would struggle, too, and I would hope that maybe someone who understood my story would be willing to help. I would hate to know that I couldn’t take my pet’s ashes home because I wasn’t prepared to cover an emergency cost. I personally would die for my pets, but that doesn’t make money appear when it needs to. And with a dog like mine, it’s not crazy to imagine sometime in the future that I will be in the position that some of these people find themselves in.

My crazy, high energy, athletic pup.

It takes a lot of guts to admit when you need help. It takes even more guts to risk your hard earned money on a complete stranger, simply because you want to help their pet, just like they do.

If this story did anything to inspire you, call your local vet office and ask to make a payment on an overdue account, even if it’s only a small one. Ask for people who haven’t been able to take their pet’s remains home, or people who struggle to pay for lifesaving, daily medication for their pets. I know that just writing this inspired me, and I’m finally going to make a payment towards one of those bills that still, even when I’m relaxing at home, pulls at my heart strings.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Hannah York

On 06/14/2016, my cousin committed suicide, and there were a lot of unanswered questions. After that, I decided that I didn't want to leave anything unanswered, so this page is a place for me to write anything and everything on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.