Petlife logo

Going Places

Only put off until tomorrow what you are willing to die having left undone.

By Rhea BombayPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Welcome home, my new pony :D

Well, I've been at the new job for over a month now. I have caught on and am performing well, according to my new boss. It's a challenge, learning something so broad, and serving such a wide range of clientele. I do my best, and at the end of the day, I come home feeling tired, but proud. I'm quite happy with my new lifestyle.

Daniel is doing well in day care. He is getting bigger all the time, and is so close to taking his first steps and learning to walk. I wonder all the time where the moments have gotten to, that he is already over a year old.

It's been almost two months since my old mare Bambi passed away. I miss her terribly, but the sadness is getting a little less every day. I was a little shocked to hear that someone I considered a friend, had some less than positive remarks behind my back, about Bambi, and how long I let her live with osteoarthritis in her knee. I haven't let it drag me down - I had the vet out weekly for the last several months of Bambi's life, and I know I did everything I could to care for her to the best of my ability.

My husband and I went through a fairly blinding storm of drama with some "friends" and some family members recently, and it's been hard but for the first time in years, we haven't engaged in the communication. We've simply shut our doors and turned our phones off to the people who poison our life - and the difference is incredible, and showing more and more every day. Our silence is proving itself in the continued attempts by the same unhappy people (When I say unhappy, I mean they're unhappy with themselves and try to bring others down to make themselves feel better unhappy) to pull us down and interrupt our lives and our steadily increasing strength, and peace.

We are scheduled for a brand new dance program with some seventy-two units, to learn not one but six different kinds of dance, and I couldn't be more excited. This, at the same time as many huge progressions with my horses and my projects at home.

I built a new dog pen, to give one of my shepherds a better setup, as she had been breaking out of her current pen and taking off on us, so we ended up having to chain her up and I hate doing that. As of tomorrow, all four of my dogs will have a well built kennel with indoor and outdoor access, and all four will be on a schedule for walks and playtime and house time with the family. It feels so good.

Today my husband and Daniel and I went on a short road trip to Camrose for a new horse, that my friend Madeline connected me with. She took my young draft cross mare, Roxie, up north with her to sell her for me, or at least work with her if nothing else, as my nervousness was preventing me from being willing to attempt to handle her.

I started riding lessons last Sunday, and then after my first lesson, I took a friend with me to view the mare Madeline had found online, and have a test ride on her. It was a wonderful time, and I knew this mare would be perfect for me. She is extremely well trained, and very well mannered, and combined with lessons once a week, I can spend an hour with her every evening after work while my husband spends time with our son - and get used to horse handling again, finally. I feel like I have waited my whole life for this moment!

Then my Shire mare, Sophy, is also up for a turn. I sent in her paperwork last week, and she is finally going to be registered as a purebred. Once this is complete, I have booked a trainer to work with her, and my plan is to have her bred to a purebred Shire stallion for next summer!

I feel good, and I feel accomplished. We are going places with our goals and nothing is going to stop us anymore.

horse
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.