Petlife logo

Dog Strollers and Judy - Sad Regrets

Looking back, I could have done more for my girl

By Ruth StewartPublished about a year ago 2 min read
3
Authors own photo

Dog strollers are something we used to laugh about. It seemed weird that people would pop their dogs into a stroller or wagon and wheel them around. Would you use a stroller or wagon for your dog? Why do people do that?

I never thought I would be the person to put my dog in a stroller. What is the point of a dog stroller? Why would someone put their dog in a waggon?

But then, my beautiful girl Judy got old. She got slower. I always felt she would be better at trying to walk, even if it wasn't far. And there is merit in that way of thinking. After all, if you don't use it, you lose it.

But now, as I look back on her life (she died in 2021 at age 20), I could have done more for her. Judy is the dog that helped me through illnesses that rejoiced with me in successes. She was always by my side. For many years, if I got up for the toilet in the night, she would come with me. Dogs do that because they see you as the pack's leader, and you are vulnerable when you go to the bathroom. They feel it's their job to protect you at that time. So I got protection from my wee Jack Russell. A small dog, indeed, she was no more than thirteen pounds.

Would a Dog Stroller Suit Judy?

I wonder if she would have been happy to ride in one, which always put me off getting one for her. I don't think she would have enjoyed a dog wagon. For her, it wouldn't have felt secure enough.

She could have gone for more walks outside. She could have traveled further, seen more things, and enjoyed more fresh air. She could have gotten used to a dog stroller.

For much of her old age, she was still friendly. She loved kids. I always thought it was because of her past. When we got her, we took her to the vet because she was still lactating after a litter of puppies. The vet informed us that she had been puppy farmed. That means she was used as a breeding dog, probably bred every season. It is tough on their little bodies, and she wasn't in the best shape when we got her.

But the experience of puppies and puppy-rearing influenced her understanding of children. She knew they were little humans. And if she had a dog stroller, she might have continued to be friends with the neighborhood kids. The cute factor would have kicked in, and she would have had some adoring fans.

It takes work to make the right decision in the middle of a situation. When I look back on Judy's life, I have certain regrets. I regret not giving her a chance with a dog stroller, as it would have enhanced her last few years. At the end of her life, she had canine dementia, which affected how she interacted with the people around us and me. She wasn't nasty, but she couldn't be bothered with humans much in her last few months.

Judy was a beautiful dog inside and out. She loved children, was friendly to other dogs and people, and just went through life spreading happiness wherever she went. No one could fault her loyalty; she was my faithful companion throughout her life. Rest well, Judy!

Read more about dog strollers!

travelhealthdog
3

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 12 months ago

    Ahhh... what a beautiful story!!! Thank you for sharing!!!

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    Dear Ruth ~ I like 'Judy!' I can so relate! My Corgi, Lola, lost the use of her rear legs and I carted her around, with loving pleasure! I'm so glad that I've discovered your succinct style of writing/and gorgeous presentations. Albeit we have different "Styles." I've written a piece "Rescue" on behalf of  - Pet Haven Minnesota - and I'm so proud that that silly short brought them so many pet - Re~Homes - - With Respect - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.