Petlife logo

Delta, our stubborn but loveable Dog.

True story about our naughty dog Delta

By Craig MaxwellPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

It was June 2003, I was celebrating my birthday and my then wife gave me a T bone steak to cook on the grill. We were strapped for cash during that time. With two little girls to take care of, we were on a very tight budget. So when I received a t bone it was a really special treat.

I remember marinating the steak the night before, I could not wait to fix it for dinner. I was excited it had been a long time since I had such a nice piece of meat to eat. Up until then my grill was used basically for burgers and hot dogs. It was a nice hot summer day, when I pulled out my kettle grill.

I loaded it with charcoal and started a fire in about twenty minutes it was a blistering hot fire. Out of the corner of my eye I could see our chocolate Lab Delta come running up to me. She had her tongue hanging out and she was wagging her tail. At that point she was around eleven years old she became a grand old gal.

She was a strong dog and had a strong will to match, It was her way and, that was that. I always quipped that she should have been a mule, she was so stubborn. When she was young we took her to dog training class, she flunked! Our instructor trained all manner of dogs including years of training police dogs.

She looked at us dumbfounded she could see we followed her instructions religiously. She just shook her head, "never in all my life have I have a dog fail my class she said." She patted delta on the head "you have a wonderful beautiful dog. However she is the most bullheaded, boneheaded, stubborn dog I have ever met."

Delta was a loving dog she was always kind and Gentle with the girls. I never worried for their safety. However she would never listen to us, we could not take her for walks. She was strong , she would break free and take off. If she would dig up the yard and we would tell her no she would dig even more. Suffice it to say we loved our stubborn dog, despite her being a pain in the butt.

Now Delta had grown old and her taking off on us days were over. She was not as spry, and strong as she once was. However she was still that stubborn pain in the butt we all loved. So when I saw her come to me I petted her. She would always come to my side when I fired up my grill.

She knew it meant one thing I was going to cook some food. She would always watch me cook she would give me her best puppy eye look. But I would not give her anything. She always would accept the fact I was not going to give her people food. We always had her own treats we would give her from time to time.

So I went into the kitchen , and pulled out my prized steak I felt my mouth water as I put it on the plate. Delta ran to me all excited as I walked to the grill. "No, no Delta this is my special birthday meal, not for dogs" Delta let out a frustrated snort. I smiled, and snorted back at her, no worries I'll get you a treat.

I took the steak off the plate and put it over the hot burning coals. It made a satisfying hiss, as it hit the grill grate. I was a happy camper, I was going to eat like a king. Then I realized I had forgot my tongs I left them in the shed. I hurriedly walked to the shed to retrieve them, I grabbed them and turned to go to the grill.

I gasped and my jaw dropped "Delta no" I yelled, as she grabbed the steak off the hot grill. That grill had to have been at least 500 degrees, in all the years I grilled she had never done that. I ran to her and she took off she was not going to give up her feast. I did not bother to chase her, even at her old age she was still too fast.

At this point it did not matter, there was no salvaging my birthday dinner. At first I was ticked, then I found myself laughing, I got on my knees, and called her to me. To my surprise she listened! by the time she came to me the steak was gone, save the bone. Once again to my surprise she let me take the bone. I was not sure she would choke on the bone so I was relieved she gave it to me.

I promptly threw the bone in the trash, she then let me pet her, as I petted her I examined her mouth. Thankfully she did not appear to have any burns. Somehow that stinker pulled off that steak , and did not hurt herself. I went and told my then wife and girls what had happened, they all laughed. So for my Birthday dinner I had hot dogs, it really was quite funny.

Sadly Delta died that following year, we had to put her down because she had cancer. I still think of Delta from time to time especially when I have steak, or hot dogs. She despite her stubborn, bullheaded personality she was part of the family, and is greatly missed.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Craig Maxwell

I am an aspiring author I am currently working on getting my first novel published. I love to write science fiction, fantasy, horror and dabble in regular fiction.and a little bit of poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.