Petlife logo

Chase and I

Adoption Of Love

By Jess Allen GribnitzPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

What seems like a love story from the start, began with a Facebook story that would change my future. For the past few weeks before Chase came into my life, I was looking for a potential pup to be my emotional support pupper to be my companion because even though I'm in the military, I've never felt like I truly fit in with humanity and I adore animals. Therefore, I was on all of the Facebook groups, shelter pages, petfinder.com, etc. to find the perfect dog to suit my needs. I've always adored the big macho breeds like Rottweilers, Staffordshire Terriers, German Shepherds, Great Danes, Doberman Pinchers, etc. because of their macho look but also their lovely attitudes and their great personalities. In which case, those were the exact breeds that I was looking for and even though I had found a few pups that would have made great companions, I had found that many of them had been adopted or were no longer available in the system. Just about the time that I wasn't sure I would be able to find one of my closest friends, my mom forwarded me this post on Facebook about this lovely pupper that I had instantly fallen in love with when I saw the pictures. Chase was on a euthanasia support page and did not have much time left before he was on track to be put down via their schedule. He had been picked up by animal control because he had fought for his life when a German Shepherd had attacked him, and Chase was defending his property. Yet, I didn't see a vicious killer in his eyes, I saw a soul that just wanted to be treated with respect and loved just like any of us would want the same. Therefore, I saw the information for the shelter and immediately called to reserve a reservation to meet my future fluffer boy. My family and I then traveled to Tyler, Texas where Chase was held and when he was brought out for us to meet him, I immediately knew that I was meant to bring him home. He was an immediate lovely soul to me, my youngest brother, aged 5, and my niece, aged 18 months, and just wanted all of the love of the world. I finished his paperwork and listened to the droning arrogance of the animal control officer that picked him up of just how "aggressive" he was and even as annoying as she was, I didn't care because I knew I just found my best friend in dog form. (Note: she received one of the biggest eye rolls that I have done in the history of my life. Luckily for me, that old wife's tale of how your eyes will get stuck at the back of your head wasn't true because my eyeballs definitely were staring at the back of my skull.) We climbed in the van and headed back home and the entire time, Chase watched cartoons with my youngest brother and I and I knew it was a match made in heaven. Chase now resides in my home and is the most spoiled pupper that can be with his wet food cans and toys galore. We spend time snuggling together and being absolute smushes just because we can (plus I found out that he is an amazing friend to read with/listen to some great tunes with hint: he loves chill hop) and I can't imagine a better dog friend to be my emotional support pup then Chase. I should be able to bring him with me everywhere I go, and I believe that we will both adore just being in each other's company. I absolutely adore him and look forward to our years together endearing the world with our presence one paw/one foot at a time.

adoption
2

About the Creator

Jess Allen Gribnitz

I'm a simple individual with simple needs, a place to love & a place to be. I seem complicated and mysterious, but most do not see, that I truly enjoy love and everything that is free. The simple thing that I love to say is I love to be me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.