Petlife logo

Cats Vs. Dogs

A SWOT Analysis in 600 Words or More

By Everyday JunglistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Cats

Any of my readers who work in any business related career will be familiar with the SWOT analysis. SWOT stands for strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats. It is a way of assessing, in easily digestible form, an existing or potential market for a new or existing product which looks at that product in relationship to existing or potential competitors in that market. It is one of those things marketing loves to do because it makes it seem as if they have a role beyond just deciding what typeface to use on the company website, writing up social media posts five people will ever read, and collecting site traffic data to be analyzed by data scientists in an attempt to increase that number to six people. I kid of course, marketing is one of my favorite business functions, and critically important to business success, and mostly wont even bother with a post unless at least ten people at least will see it.

Big Dogs

In any case, I have both cats and dogs, and in a sense they are the ultimate competitors in the marketplace of the human world, each vying for our love and attention and foodscraps. The techniques they use overlap in some areas, cuteness for example, but differ in many others. For example, dogs use begging as a means of obtaining things they want whereas cats use the opposite approach of begging you to get out their way and leave them alone which somehow convinces us to give them what they want anyway. And within the dog genre there exist at least two main subgenre the large dog and the small dog each with their own unique behavioral characteristics, pros and cons. Originally this SWOT analysis was posted on Medium which does not have a word count minimum for publication requirement. There I simply published the three inforgraphics as seen here but without all this useless and stupid chatter. Unfortunately that is not an option here at Vocal so please read on as I am only at three hundred and forty three words and I am therefore forced to continue typing unfunny, nonsensical, and time wasteing claptrap in order to meet this arbitrary and stupid requirement.

Small dogs

Speaking of marketing, how was that? Did I sell you on my writing skills? If so, you have been seriously fooled as by now you should have realized I have virtually none. That is reflected in my terrible readership stats and inability to make more than $500 from writing and publishing shitty articles like this one over about seven years of effort now. That is $500 total, not $500 on one or two stories. I have published close to 2500 stories, articles, comments, posts, or whatever on two websites over close to seven years of effort and have pulled in a grand total of five hundred bucks. Of course, I do not write for the money, I write for the fame and notoriety. And I have failed miserably on that count as well with fewer reads, fans, followers, etc. than ever. It is only my love of the written word and myself that presses me to continue. And do I ever love myself, I mean like bigtime. Which is good because nobody else does except for my parents I guess, I mean, I think they still love me. Do you mom and dad, still love me? Gosh I hope so. Ohhh, also my dogs and cats. They love me I am sure. Well, mostly sure, at least I know my dogs love me, and my cats tolerate me which is something and about as good as you can get from a stupid cat. Lol! Six hundred and ten words. Nice!

catdog
Like

About the Creator

Everyday Junglist

Practicing mage of the natural sciences (Ph.D. micro/mol bio), Thought middle manager, Everyday Junglist, Boulderer, Cat lover, No tie shoelace user, Humorist, Argan oil aficionado. Occasional LinkedIn & Facebook user

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.