Petlife logo

Buster brown

My loyal little stinker (my dog)

By Abigail WrightPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

I just wanna say when I walk into the dog shelter the first thing I hear are dogs barking, but for the first time in my whole life I walked past a kennel where a silent beagle was laying sprawled out like jello. My first thought was he was new or he was just scared but as soon as I turned the corner I hear an adorable “BOWOOOO” echo through the building. One of the tenants ran past me, right up to the dogs cage trying to see what was wrong.

As the dog’s voice echoed I felt my heart breaking in two, so I wandered over near him and the closer I got the quieter he became. When I stepped Into view of this fat beagle I was met with a face full of snot, it was like he said “How dare you walk away?!”. That is how I knew he was the dog for me.

I proceeded to talk to the lady standing before me and arranged to play with the dog outside in one of their yards. I was handed a rubber ball and a few treats then they left me to get some paperwork ready. The chubby little dog wriggled it’s nose as it gazed at the hand where his thick meat treats were. His big doey eyes stayed hooked on my right hand as I threw the bright blue ball with my left hand. I could tell he was in the relationship for the food so I sat on the cement flooring and called out to him “come’er … Come’er good boy” it took me a few tries but he eventually took a few steps toward me. I reached my left hand out and he immediately covered it in his drool, he was holding his jaw in my hand waiting patiently for a treat as saliva dripped off my hand. After giving him a few treats he stepped into my lap and curled up like a cat.

Once half an hour or so had passed one of the workers came out to check on me, I was in a daze grooming the dogs wiry hair when I heard the door open. The lady from the desk was standing at the door whispering “I will take that as a yes for the adoption?” I nodded my head ever so slightly so I wouldn’t wake the pup.

After a few more minutes I tapped my new baby boy on the head and his eyes flickered open revealing a light brown ring around his ever so dark pupils. I was handed a long black leash to attach to his dull blue collar. We walked out to the front entrance and they had me fill out paperwork along with paying the fee to adopt him.

As soon as I had finished the formalities we ran to the front seat of my bright red SUV. He had a hard time getting into the seat so I gave him a little shove from behind. My black leather seat would soon be covered with white and dark brown fur but that was no issue for me. I started the car and the poor dog jumped into the back seat of my car. I reached back to calm him down but his head was already shoved into a spare garbage bag I had used to clean with. In that moment I shouted “BUSTER BROWN GET OUTTA THERE” when I saw him all I could think was that I busted him for getting into the trash plus his gorgeous brown eyes, it just made sense to me!

The best memory I have of my dog was the first one we ever made, choosing his name!

adoption

About the Creator

Abigail Wright

I am hoping to use my stories to advance my career, if I win anything that is!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AWWritten by Abigail Wright

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.