Petlife logo

Animal Webcomics that don't bite

Hilarious comics that feature cute and loveable creatures.

By Bri CraigPublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
7
Art from the Lingvistov Instagram Page

Above all else, I consider myself to be an animal lover and a connoisseur of comics. Although a few of my readers may have already figured out the latter (this is, after all, my fifth article about comic strips), I feel as though all of my previous articles have done a disservice to the wonderful animal-based comics that exist out there in the world.

Animals are consistently favored subjects in comics and this is evident when you analyze the popularity of characters such as Snoopy, Garfield, and Hobbes. Recently, we have seen a shift from traditional print media comics to internet-based comics (webcomics), and although there are many aspects of comics that have changed and transformed with this shift, there is still plenty of love for our furry (and non-furry) friends.

So today's article celebrates a classic subject in a modern form, and takes a peek into the wild world of animal comics. In this collection, animals are often, if not always, the main subject and source of humor. I hope you enjoy this selection as much as I enjoyed putting it together for you!

1. They Can Talk

Instagram: @Theycantalkcomics

They Can Talk focuses on (you guessed it) what animals would say if they could talk. The series brings out a variety of animal voices, from domestic pets to wild animals, and each one has their own quirky thoughts to speak to the world. This comic is honestly so funny, and when I say this comic inspired this whole article about animal-based webcomics, I mean it.

2. Poorly Drawn Lines

Instagram: @poorlydrawnlines

Poorly Drawn Lines is a comic series created by Reza Farazmand - it involves a cast of mostly small animals who go about their lives in relatable and humorous ways. The humor style is a little off-beat and tongue-in-cheek, and I absolutely love it.

Also, Poorly Drawn Lines also created their own Hulu-exclusive TV series! So if you enjoy the comics, I recommend watching the show.

3. Liz Climo

Instagram: @lizclimo

Liz Climo is a talented artist who creates the cutest and funniest little animals. While she has a line of coloring books, picture books, and stationery sets, I mostly love her for her silly comics. Her style is equal parts wholesome and hilarious, and she is family-friendly in her approach to finding humor in the day-to-day.

4. Lingvistov

Instagram: @lingvistov

Okay, so this comic artist is specifically for the cat-lovers out there. If you hate cats, just move along. You don't deserve this comic.

Lingvistov creates adorable comics about living in a home full of kitties. They capture the essence of the crazy antics of our furry friends, and the odd quirks that make living with a cat so fun. The comics are simple and let's be honest, there is no shortage of cat content on the internet, but these comics never fail to bring a smile to my face.

Honorable Mentions

Buddy Gator showcases some adorable animal comics. However, I already wrote about this comic in my wholesome webcomics post (here), so I won't write a full blurb on them again for this article.

Dinos and Comics is another comic series that's already been taken by my wholesome comics collection (wholesomeness and animals go hand in hand after all). So enjoy this sampler post!

Thank you!

If you liked this collection, please check out the other articles in my mini webcomics series by clicking the links below:

Please, let me know if you would like to see more webcomic features. You can leave a heart to let me know you like this series, or you can let me know on Instagram or on Twitter (I also love webcomic recommendations)!

The Complete Collection

list
7

About the Creator

Bri Craig

Bri Craig (she/her) is a variety pack writer. She enjoys writing poetry, webcomic features, humor, short stories, and personal anecdotes. Basically, neither of us will ever know what will be posted next!

Let's connect! More about me here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.