Petlife logo

Abigail’s Posse Plus Two

A war on the world on Vocal

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
7
Image courtesy of Author

As a cat Mum of two, one of my favourite memories is from when my two furry angels, Peach and Grizabella, took it upon themselves and decided to join Abigail’s posse in the war on the world on Vocal.

It all began on that never forgotten day, that Abigail scratched at the door for an unexpected visit.

That unscheduled visit enfolded as thus.

**********************************************************************

“Grizabella, where are you? We have a very important visitor. You definitely don’t want to miss meeting this VIP,” Peach meows, as he searches the house for Grizabella.

“Come on Grizabella, today’s the day to find your courage and stop hiding under the bed. I promise you’ll want to hear what our visitor has to say,” Peach continues.

Little Grizabella pokes her head out from under the bed and asks, “Peach, you know I’m a scaredy-cat and I don’t like strangers, so who is so important that you want me to meet them?”

Grizabella as she was introduced to Abigail

Peach continues meowing at Grizabella as she follows him out of the bedroom, towards the sun room and the front door. “Grizabella, I’d like you to meet my idol, Abigail. Abigail, this is my little sister Grizabella.”

Peach leans close to Grizabella and mewls, “Grizabella, please help me out here, I think I’m in love.”

Peach showing off all his glory……..how can anyone resist him……least of all Abigail, he’s sure!

Then continuing in his deepest meow, Peach explains to Grizabella, “Abigail is famous in the world of Vocal, she is our spokesperson, our champion, our tireless campaigner, forever the leader of our feline presence on Vocal, little as it is. Abigail stoutly publishes petition after petition, in an attempt to point out to Vocal how disappointed we are that the feline masters of the universe are not recognised by Vocal.”

“Hello Grizabella,” Abigail purrs. “I’m here to ask if you and Peach will join the fight. I’m currently collecting my posse and I would love you on board. Your beauty and grace, not to mention your compassion and strength, will go far in convincing Vocal that we are the superior breed, when it comes to all animals.”

“Peach, I would welcome your leadership skills as my right hand man. Your size and strength will help keep our younger posse members on track. I feel you’ll be perfect at keeping the little ones from getting distracted and when Vocal sees you in all your glorious mane, they’ll be blown away by your handsomeness,” Abigail purrs softly.

Peach on the day he opened the door to find Abigail had come for a visit. He was certainly thankful Mum had combed out his mane that day.

Abigail closes her argument and asks, “So what say you Peach and Grizabella? Will you join the feline war of the world on Vocal?”

“You betcha Abigail, I’d follow you to the moon and back if you were to only ask,” Peach purrs.

Grizabella ums and ahs some but finally responds, “Abigail, I’m in. I’m sure you’re right and once Vocal gets a glimpse of me, the war will be won.”

Grizabella showing off all her glory…….convinced Vocal will take one look at her and the war will be won.

“Alright, it’s on,” Peach howls, “now let’s get our zoomies on,” as he zooms out of the room with both Grizabella and Abigail following.

After the three had zoomed around the house, playing tag and meowing loudly, they plop down on the lounge room mat, exhausted.

Peach and Grizabella resting on the mat as they listen to Abigail’s war game plans.

Abigail pants out, while trying to catch her breath, “I best head home as Mum is waiting to help me type up my best war tactics as we speak. I’ll pop around tomorrow and run the story past you, before we set it out to be published.”

“I’m super excited Abigail,” Peach cries in glee. “Grizabella and I will set out to round up our friends, as we’ll need others to join in our war games. I’ll see you tomorrow my graceful leader.”

Grizabella is still not certain but she knows that it is time for Vocal to recognise our importance in the world of furry pets, so she purrs quietly, “See you tomorrow Abigail. Our war has just begun and we will not be overcome.”

With that Abigail heads home to Mum.

Meanwhile, Peach is jumping around, up onto the lounge, over to the coffee table, bounding across to the window sill, in glee and Grizabella, sits quietly watching, knowing she will feel the fear and do it anyway.

The war games have just begun.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

catsatirephotography
7

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 2 years ago

    Cute Stuff! Your furbabies are gorgeous! Wishing them luck on their venture!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Woohoo!!! Loving it!!!💖💕

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    I love this. Looks like the war is on. I expect a lot of laughter coming my way.

  • Princess Abigail, may I please join your posse too? Lol! I loved the name Grizabella, it is so unique. And Peach is so handsome!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Yes! Abigail and I love this. Thanks for joining the posse.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.