Motivation logo

You Can Stop Your People Pleasing Habit With One Physics-Based Mindset Shift

All This Quantum Nonsense Really Puts Things Into Perspective

By Eve BerkovichPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
You Can Stop Your People Pleasing Habit With One Physics-Based Mindset Shift
Photo by Halacious on Unsplash

It’s incredible how much we can hold ourselves back just by considering how others might perceive us.

Sometimes I still find myself imagining what I look like “from the outside.” Growing up, I had formed a habit of hosting a mean, judgmental audience in my mind.

The audience would be especially loud any time I thought about doing something other than what I was “supposed” to do.

Lately, though, it’s been a lot easier to believe that the audience lived strictly in my mind. Now, I choose to assume that everyone is cheering me on, as I am for them.

Going back to my nerdy roots as a science kid actually helped me a lot.

Please, hear me out.

Not so long ago, Albert Einstein invented some wild science. It doesn’t take an Einstein to know this dude turned the entire physics community upside down.

You may recall one of his most important equations:

E = mc²

The E, unsurprisingly, stands for Einstein. But, few laypeople know that it actually also stands for energy.

The M stands for matter, which is the fancy science word for “stuff.” You may remember learning about atoms in science class, or about Atom and Eve if you were homeschooled.

Atoms are the building blocks of matter, meaning they’re pretty scientifically important.

The C stands for “C-peed,” as in, C-peed of light. The C-peed of light is very fast.

I don’t actually remember all of the deets, but I’m pretty sure that Einstein also spent a buttload of time trying to figure out how to make all the laws of the universe play nice with each other.

Einstein made up E = mc², but he knew there was way more to our crazy universe.

That same logic is what caused me to almost fail high school physics. These formulas are just… too easy. I’m not convinced. The ones that I made up myself are wayyy better.

Anyway, the science bros soon discovered that electrons are sometimes a particle and sometimes a wave.

And! An electron’s behavior can literally change based on whether someone is observing it.

Don’t get me started on the whole Schrödinger’s cat thing.

My intention is not only to educate you with these super accurate facts.

My true aim here today is to point out that everything in our universe is matter and energy, including you and me.

Humans and bananas are just two different arrangements of the same atoms and energy, but the atoms existing in human form have to pay taxes.

A flower never has to learn how to grow, but you supposedly have to get a master’s degree before you’re worthy of a living wage.

Can you believe this shit?

My whole point is that all this wild multidimensional quantum nonsense really helps put things into perspective.

Take a few moments to internalize the fact that anybody who you’re worried might be judging you is a collection of atoms in this quantum soup of a universe. Just like you.

You can’t be fooled by fakery and professionalism anymore. That rich CEO whom you’re putting on a pedestal as you desperately apply to do his assistant’s bitch work? A clump of atoms and energy, just like you.

Any time you’re worried about what someone else might be thinking of you…

Any time you think your worth is based on someone else’s opinion of you…

Any time you think that some mere human is capable of holding you back from following your bliss…

Remember that you are literally the universe observing itself through consciousness.

Never forget it: any clump of quantum soup who wants to tell you how to live your life can suck your meaty protons.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Eve Berkovich

Broadcasting my genius

Instagram: @eve.berk

Join my delicious email list to transform your mindset: awakenyourgenius.substack.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.