Motivation logo

Why You Must Believe in Yourself

Go be the awesome person you know you are!

By Osana WasutPublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Like

I worry a lot about the future... I mean, I worry about finding my place in this big world and making my mark. I also struggle a lot with believing in myself... It's a problem that I face quite frequently. Some days are worse than others, but these thoughts always leave me confused and a little depressed, wondering if my life will ever turn out the way I dreamt of when I was a child...

But we all do experience this happen at some point in our lives.

I remember thinking not very long ago, what should I do with my life? What do I want to be remembered for? What will make my life worthwhile? Where do I see myself in five years, ten years?

The answer still eludes me to this day, like I cannot see all the great things I am capable of achieving, and so I remain stuck in my rut unable to climb out and start living the tremendous life I want to live.

It's like I am trapped in my bubble, afraid of emerging as the beautiful being I am and know myself to be, because I am still riddled with the fear of what others will think of me if/when I do decide to show my true colors to the world.

We are told all our lives how special we are, and how much potential we have, and all the truly wonderful things we can accomplish... But we don't really believe it, do we? We believe it more for others, and less for our own selves, although there is a voice inside us that tells us what an amazing person we are all the time, but we usually don't listen to it, or even sometimes we like to argue with that voice, coming back with thoughts like, "No I am stupid, I will never amount to anything, my life sucks, I am worthless...."

I've struggled with my own belief in myself for my entire life. My higher self tells me all the time how amazing I am, and I do believe deep down inside that I will do great things. I just don't know what I'll end up doing. I am 26 now, and I feel like I haven't done much with my life, and it really bugs me... But then when I sit down and go over everything I have actually accomplished in the past five or ten years, I am astonished by how much I have accomplished, and I realize I am not giving myself enough credit.

I have come a very long way from where I was four years ago. It blows some people away actually how much progress I have achieved. I went from being a severely depressed, suicidal, overweight, broke, and very angry 22 years old, to the person I am now, which is unrecognizable to myself even. It's like my old me died, and I let this new version come out and shine. I am now happy, positive, spiritual, kind, loving, and at a good size physically for me to feel decently comfortable in a bikini.

I've come a long way, but I still don't feel like I have done very much with myself.

We tend to always be so hard on ourselves especially when looking at our own accomplishments in life.

I am learning to have more grace and understanding with myself, and I realize that there is a time and a place for everything and to not be upset with myself if I am not yet magically living my dream life yet, of course, I am not. I haven't done the work required for it yet, so really what do I even expect? Living my dream life won't just magically appear one day, not unless I work consistently and steadily towards it.

I feel like we get to a certain point though in our lives when enough becomes enough, and we decide to make a change. For some people, this may happen later in life and that's fine too. It doesn't matter if you are 26 (like me) and finally going after the life you want, or you're 56 and deciding to finally make a change. As long as you do it eventually is all that matters, but of course the sooner the better. Don't wait until it's too late.

The number one regret for people dying on their death bed has and always will be: Not doing something.

NOT DOING: blank. (Go ahead, fill in the blank with whatever comes to mind first. I dare you!)

People never regret the things they did. They only regret the things they didn't do.

The biggest hurdle one must overcome when going after something they know they are capable of is those self-limiting beliefs. They aren't real facts, they are just stories in your mind that you created that hold you back from really working towards your greatest version. It's the thoughts that say, "No you can't do that. What are you, crazy? No one will ever read your writing, no one wants to listen to your music, no one cares what you have to say...."

But you need to tell that voice to take a hike, don't listen to it, and show it you mean business. Even if one person reads your stuff, or only two people come and listen to you play music, what does it even matter? If it makes you happy, that is all that counts. Do whatever makes you happy, screw what other people think, and most importantly, never ever stop believing in yourself.

Okay? Are you listening?

Yes, you... Seriously never ever lose faith in yourself, you are great, and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Go do the things that make you happy, and stop living in your bubble, no matter how comfortable that bubble is.

Go take a class, or start exercising, or even just go read a book outside! Just do something that you've always wanted to do, but never have done because you were fearful. Something that pushes you outside of your normal routine and comfort zone. You'll start to believe in yourself with each passing day that you can do it, and before you know it you won't even recognize yourself anymore. All it takes is one small baby step in the right direction, repeated daily.

The thing is, I can sit here all night and write out why you should believe in yourself, and how awesome you truly are, but it's not something that I can do for you. Believing in yourself is something that you must do all on your own, which can be hard, but it is so completely worth it in the end.

A strong belief in yourself can bring you all these benefits and more:

  • You recognize your ability to accomplish goals.
  • You’re optimistic about the future as you set goals and achieve them.
  • Deep down inside, you know you can do anything.
  • You treat yourself kindly.
  • You feel uplifted and more satisfied with life.
  • You’re motivated to get things done.
  • You have faith, no matter what.
  • You see and enjoy the abundance around you.
  • Others feel attracted to you.

It won't happen overnight, I will tell you that. It could even take years... But really, what else are you doing? Turn off Netflix, disable Facebook notifications and Snapchat, and start doing things in your life that really, truly spark a fire in your belly, that make you smile and laugh uncontrollably. Do things that make you feel ALIVE!!!!!

Life can be such an amazing ride if you let it be!

And with that being said, I am going to go and work on some projects of my own that I have been wanting to do for several years now, but haven't been able to "find time" for them. But enough is enough. I am deciding to make a change, and you have no excuse to not do the same thing! Go be the awesome person you know you are!

With Love and Light

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Osana Wasut

Sharing my stories with the world. Writing has been a great tool for transformation, and I feel like I am only starting to dive deep into the self. Life is a wonderful gift, live to the fullest!

Find me at www.osanawasut.ca

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.