Motivation logo

Why Happiness and Purpose Cannot Be Found In A Bucket List

“There is no need to reach the top of the stars. They are already inside you. Just get inside yourself! ”~ Unknown

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Why Happiness and Purpose Cannot Be Found In A Bucket List
Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

List of buckets. One hundred things to do before you die. Twenty-five - before twenty-five. Thirty-before-thirty. New Year's resolutions.

You are making a list of goals, I have written it.

In fact, I remember writing a list of goals for the year in my journal at a young age of nine. (I even remember what some of them were, but that's a secret between me and my little man, bless his heart.)

Universal wisdom teaches that one of the keys to good health is setting and reaching goals.

And setting goals is what I did, year after year.

I learned to sew my own clothes. You took pictures. He does well the art of cooking. They traveled across Europe. Learn the past. Yoga classes have started. And I post everything on social media (confirms my 'success')

Now why did the cup of my soul feel empty? Why did my life feel so uncomfortable and stressful, like an uncomfortable, itchy jersey? Why did the gray days merge into one long fading, until the end of another year with little progress in all my happiness?

Because I was leading the way in the current situation, my peers, and in the media about what creates happiness and success instead of following my own feelings and inner guidance.

Because I was getting into a random and uncoordinated set of activities and success rather than going back and forth looking at the overall picture of who I want to be and how I want to live my life.

Because I kept my happiness to the next day when I set out the right goals in my life rather than seeing that today is full of magic, excitement, beauty, simple joy and beauty. And I had all the reasons and means to rejoice and overflow with satisfaction right now and now.

But most of all, I always felt empty, even though I had the desire to kick and kick purpose, due to one misunderstanding of the state of health: I was looking at external sources of happiness and a sense of satisfaction instead of holding on to my happiness and my inner meaning.

It is not that goals and success are bad or necessary, but it is the breaking of a life cake. And of course, even though they are good, your happiness and confidence should not depend on them.

I realized that your value as a person should not go down and down depending on whether you have a relationship, a house, a respected job, a small number, or a Facebook list full of friends.

You are naturally important and sufficient, and you win life by simply being here. For you are in this moment, a combination of humanity as well as natural tendencies, interests, passions, and titles.

With this kind of thinking, it dawned on me that, while goals and dreams are healthy and rewarding, they should probably be seen as second to your highest goal in life: to be yourself.

Communicating with your soul through life experiences, meditation, movement, nature, service, and loss in the flow of doing things you love.

Deep love and who you are.

Growing up to be your highest level.

Loving and accepting and giving and forgiving everyone you meet.

Optional and try again whenever you fall short of that high version of your version.

Eating your favorite food, dancing to your favorite music, laughing at your favorite jokes, wearing your favorite outfits, reading your favorite books, and working, date, live, create, indulge, and have fun in ways that sound good to you.

To live fully and win the world with your gifts.

The most amazing thing is that, the more I let go of external motives and focused on selfishness, soul care, and the diamond field within me, the more outward success seemed to come naturally.

As a product of caring for my inner world, my outer world has always evolved in beautiful and amazing ways.

We need not fear that by devoting some of our time, energy, and resources to the pursuit of life, we will end up living a life of self-denial. My experience has shown me that the exact opposite is true.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.