Motivation logo

Why fight it, fight the jealousy

Make the money and count the change

By Kathy ReedPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Fence of flowers by Kathy Reed

9/4/2020

Why Fight it, Fight the Jealousy

Make the money and count the change

Written: Kathy Reed

Keep on going, because the road is unpaved

Although, being yourself and a people person is so hard, you just have to figure out why. I know when I am at work, it's like everyone does it for you. But those same people never came out with me to the park or lake or walked my dog with me. I say that to suggest, that maybe when I am at a work setting, that is only a part of me and not my full self. You never know until you try at being a starving artist if you will really succed or not. Chances are that you have had a weekly paycheck from somewhere this whole time anyway. And even if you were once at an art gallery, was it your own? So what really do you know about money?

Keep on knowing, so you can keep on growing

There are so many classes to take, and the ones that you have taken already are a key value in understanding money practices. When it comes to selling you will have to mostly understand, that the customer wants, you, they want your art, your painting. You are in a different limelight now. Because, although you have invested in this business, what do you say with your money? It's like this, imagine telling your mom, "Hey, this painting is done, I think it looks nice in most settings, so you can grant me a donation, or slide me $50.00 because I know it'll be worth $200,000 one day". The

The face of Homelessness by Adebanji Slave

truth is, you are going to have to fight homelessness if you become an artist. This is solely not a choice but a demand, unless you find out how to get your paintings in front of someone and make the sale. I mean, Door Dash is great, on the side, as being a street vendor. I just seen myself in Paris one day, sounds cliche.

Waive at every baby, and smile

I did get out there and use my head. I think the trips to here and there when I was asked what I was in my 20's are heartale voices that have always told me that I was a painter, writer, and drawer. But when those voices became so loud that they took over me, and I had to quit my day job to thrive as an artist, then what else could I do. I had to look at my art and see if I was really that good. I mean, what is it worth in Market?

Watch the mama act lazy, when the baby likes me

I think that I know it all sometimes. In a long time, I have not sat with people and discussed art. I did this summer though. It felt as if, this is life. Although, I can only thank the world that I became in, before this. So that, my billing and clerical skills do not go unforgotten, I just wonder, what is the path that I am meant to take. Some guy, showed me his art, at the street vending event that I did and although I considered it fair, I just wondered, what my art said. No one dare tell the other.

Colorful Water Lilly by Claude Monet

Never tell and lie or tell and smile at the truth

If you had to pay your rent and gas solely on art I think that you can! Here are my advices. Know the law and be licensed. This way you can enjoy yourself at the event. Accept graciously, donations are a good way to start, solely because it lets the buyer choose the amount of worth they value your art. When you become better, set your prices. Remember people love buying art and they love new artist. So take the compliment.

Watch the truth with eyes, and behind all eyes are the key to the soul.

I love to try to get up with the customer if I am sitting, or turn round' with them to view what they view. Remember the painting and art is in your mind. This you share with others. Try not to stay in sells mode. People are only human, so in reality you have to admit your not there to date, this is what you do, and also remember a lot, a lot, of people don't even have teeth. So the reality is that you are a lovely painter, just selling your art across the country, I can even sing a little if you'd like to rock back and forth with me.

Sources: Bing.com, Google.com, website visited: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Claude-Monet-Colorful-Water-Lily-Pond-Repro-10-Hand-Painted-Oil-Painting-36x48in-/360801142882, website visited: http://adebanjialade.blogspot.com/2012/12/the-face-of-homelessness-southeastern.html

Photos by: Adebanji Slave, The face of Homelessness, Claude Monet, Colorful Water Lilly, Kathy Reed, Fence of flowers.

Written By: Kathy Reed

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Kathy Reed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.