Motivation logo

WHO AM I?

The Beauty in Breaking

By Mashal HaroonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
WHO AM I?
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

The identity of one’s true self could never be known in a short and brief amount of time. It is a masterpiece that has to go through a million wrong and right strokes to make oneself the best of its kind and also the best in this market of a million souls. The more lost you feel, the better will be, the process of finding. To conquer yourself, you must lose a whole lot in the process. The losing is hard, yet, very much pleasing when one is introduced to the very reason behind it. But, like they say,"You must trust the process".

By DJ Johnson on Unsplash

There were many moments in my life where I thought I have seen it all. I have encountered every sorrow and every painful truth yet, life surprised me every time, with a whole new struggle and a whole new perception of life. The hardships are sometimes too much yet, what matters is how graceful and polished you come out of them at the very end. There will be souls that you trust. Trust in a way, where them understanding every phase of your life and mood, is expected. Yet, how can one be understanding and gentle with me, more than myself? How is this someone else's responsibility? Why can't I be gentle to my own self? These questions always find their way in the minds of those, who are dying to be saved yet, they just don't know how.

By Hadija Saidi on Unsplash

I have been looking for these answers myself and I have finally found the answers. It is not really a responsibility or a burden to depend on another soul with your baggage. It is actually the beauty of relying and depending on another soul. We may say it out loud all the time that "I need no one else" and "I can take care of myself", but deep down, Is that really the truth? Do we know how to do it all on our own? We need someone, in fact, someone really special. Someone that has demons of their own, hiding in their closets. The demons, they can't deal with themselves, but rather need someone like yourself to tell them that the demons are really just in their heads and has nothing to do with reality. A person with demons of their own is whom a person that is broken, can completely rely on and not because they can understand you better given the similar situations that they have dealt with themselves, but because two broken souls know exactly how to heal the wounds with gentle strokes of love and compassion. It is them who knows how it's really done.

By Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Human souls are tough, but at one point or at several points in their lives, just too naive. Weakness is not a flaw, but it is just something that is very much human in itself. The crashes are hard, but not enough to call one dead. The breaking is necessary for one to find the space they hold within themselves. Breaking is rather more beautiful. It is the beauty in breaking that makes one feel tough and realize how much more they are capable of. The breaking is a hole that is carved into our souls to reveal a much stronger being buried deep. The world is filled with surprises and to find oneself, the pain and the wounds are just necessary elements. The kind one can't dodge.

Don't rush with your heart. Give it the time and space to grow. Give it the support it demands from you. You are the only entity your heart can rely on. So, give your heart the time to heal. Give it all it desires and let it be the best of its kind.

healing
2

About the Creator

Mashal Haroon

At 17 years old, I found a way of digging into my soul and drawing my demons in the most beautiful way possible. Poems became my escape and enlightening others of the same treasure, became my goal.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nour Boustani2 years ago

    I have been asking this question myself for over 15 years and still haven't found the answer yet! Thank you for sharing, Mashal.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.