Motivation logo

When Trying to Be Positive Brings You Down

"Calmness comes when you trade in anticipation of acceptance." ~ Unknown

By Samyog kandelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

When Trying to Be Positive Brings You Down
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

How many of us have felt that way when we tried to talk about a difficult situation in the right way? We are often fed up with the idea that the way we feel is in the way we decide to see life, which I agree with; however, sometimes I think that idea is taken for granted.

Among my little melted ones the other day, I called my friend and told her what was going on in my head a few months ago.

“It sounds like you have some embarrassment problems with your experience. It is okay to admit that you are embarrassed and angry. You need to allow yourself to accept it. It is the first step in treatment… ”asserted my friend as I pretended not to work while trying to explain how I felt in the last year of my life.

“What a relief,” I thought to myself as he stepped back to confirm all my thoughts and feelings.

Have you ever known something in your mind, but do you need someone to bring it to you?

Whenever I talked about my experience, I always did my best to present it in the best possible light. We should have confidence in how we view our health and experiences, right? The problem is that I was doing it at the expense of undermining the authenticity of my story.

I have gone all over the country, leaving my well-paid (but sad) job, friends, and family in search of a full-time job instead of getting fired. I accepted a one-year job as a career counselor at a boarding school, working with young people from very difficult backgrounds.

I enjoyed working with the students and learned valuable lessons from them and their stories.

I hated feeling always like I wasn’t (good) enough.

I have poured out everything I had that year, and I admit, there have been times when I have failed because I was struggling to get the support I needed while struggling with a major health crisis, trying to be "present" to my friends and family at home, and a balance that helps guide students through their problems.

Plus, I couldn’t meet all the expectations from people and in so many different places, so I’ve done my best but it doesn’t cover everything.

Although I could tell a friend that this is the only thing you can do and that is enough, like many others, I am my worst enemy and I always feel like a failure.

I returned to my homeland feeling defeated not only in terms of my school performance, but also in returning I did not get what I wanted.

I felt even more ignorant and lost than before I left, and it was embarrassing. Who leaves everything behind looking for something, and then comes back without you?

My friend continued to gently remind me that not everything I can control when I protest even things like, "but isn't that how we see life with all our ideas? Shouldn't we be able to go out and fix things if they don't meet our needs or change the way we look?"

“So, it wasn't what you hoped it would be. That is not your fault. You need to acknowledge and accept that you feel the way you do, and that’s okay. Trying to hide what is actually happening can be a barrier to progress. "

Oops. On the right.

When he said that it seemed like the most visible thing in the world. It is safe to say that there were some errors with the system that were not related to me. Well, the experience was incomplete. Well, I was wrong.

I was always trying so hard to put a good spin in my story that I was no longer really telling my story, and those subtle lies reflected my sense of self-worth.

All told, I believe in doing our best to “look the bright side,” figuratively, but not before we can honestly evaluate our experience and accept how we really feel.

Only then can we truly be honest with ourselves about how we feel when we are able to get a good lesson, recover, and move on.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Samyog kandel

I am a passionate writer, trying to inspire other through my story..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.