Motivation logo

"When the mind is calm, perception is better."

This story can help you recognize your inner strength.

By srdjan koracPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Every human being is capable of seeing things as they truly are, but it requires a lot of effort and work on your spiritual development. What does this entail? Simply put, you need to start with small things to slowly begin developing the inner world within you.

EVERY GREAT STEP WE TAKE IN LIFE IS MADE UP OF A SERIES OF SMALLER ONES.

My mission in writing this is not to propagate any supernatural or paranormal powers, because I honestly do not believe in them myself, but to help you recognize the things that are happening to you and to act in accordance with them in the best possible way. The general theory of the survival and existence of every human being that prevails throughout the world is linked to materialism and self-interest. As you can see today, there are millions of life coaches, millions of marketers, and all of this is multiplying at a rapid pace, but the effect that is achieved is in most cases, ONLY BAD HYPERPRODUCTION.

The reason for promoting such types of professions is simply to express one's own ego, and their desire to achieve personal material gains and personal progress. If we consider that our ego functions on the principle of imperfection, i.e. that it is constantly in fear because it feels it is not enough and not whole, it can cause fears in our psyche and create a disbalance between the real reality and its fragmented perception.

How does our mind function?

Our mind can be our best ally if used in a productive way. When it comes to storing, collecting, and nurturing information, our mind is the best tool we can use to our advantage. However, if we do not recognize this fact enough, its negative aspect is that it constantly creates stories in your head based on its fear and perception that is caused by your past and previous good or bad life experiences. These stories constantly repeat in your head, in a predetermined order and principle, always with the same content.

Therefore, it is important to develop "spiritual purity" in yourself, which will act as a cinema screen that serves only as a backdrop on which various passing cycles of life will take place, but that screen will never lose its essence and shape. All challenging situations in life need to be viewed from a state of cautious silence, and never allow emotions to carry you away.

If we consider that our ego functions on the principle of imperfection, i.e. that it is constantly under fear because it seems to him that he is not enough and that he is not complete, in such a state it causes fears in our psyche and imbalance between the real reality and its fragmented perception.

Its negative side, if these facts are not recognized enough, is that it constantly creates stories in your head based on its fear and perception that is caused by your past and your previous good or bad life experiences.

All challenging situations in life need to be viewed from a state of cautious silence, and never allow emotions to cloud the real and objective picture of such situations.

I will describe an event that personally happened to me in just such a situation.

It was in 2005, and the final basketball game that decided the winner of the entire season was being played.

After a 1-1 tie in the final score, the third decisive game was played.

I personally entered the game under great pressure, but that was only because I allowed my mind to autonomously create images in my head and give me false information, such as (you are the best basketball player, you will make a big career after this game, you will earn a lot of money, you will solve all your life problems) and all those false and fictional words were constantly spinning in my head, deceiving me and distracting me from the main focus at that moment, which was the game itself. It was only necessary to calm the mind in such a situation and be focused only on the game and the situations that were happening at that moment.

As the game progressed, my performance was getting weaker and weaker, I was simply paralyzed, it was not me. I couldn't find myself, I was losing the ball, and my self-confidence was very low.

The coach noticed that I wasn't mentally ready for the game and took me out of the lineup. I started talking to myself again, or rather, my mind disguised with malicious insinuations, telling me a different story (how I wasn't good enough for this endeavor, how I simply wasn't cut out for big basketball dreams, how I would never succeed). As you can imagine, the transformations of the mind were just as dramatic at the beginning of the game and during the game, all with the intention of distracting me from my true goal and focus.

As the game approached its end, it became more and more tense and uncertain, with the score changing minute by minute. At that moment, an incredible calm and serenity took over my inner state, even though the external situation was causing delirium in the stands and among the players on the court. There was a great tension, but I remained calm and composed inside. There was no more talking to myself, as if I had stopped my thoughts and was simply in the present moment, with a clear head.

Our best player up to that point made five personal fouls, putting our team in a devastating situation. The coach was desperate but forced to put me back in the game, even though there were only five minutes left and the opponent was leading. I had no idea what would happen next.

I played an incredible last 5 minutes, scoring 8 points, of which I made 6/6 free throws, but shooting in an incredibly heated and tense situation where opposing fans were screaming, insulting, and trying to distract me.

My inner state at that moment was incredibly calm and peaceful, nothing from the outside could distract me or negatively affect my focus.

We became champions of that championship and I was the main actor of the game.

I return to the beginning of this story and my observations that in challenging situations, you simply must have cautious silence, which means that inside you, there is peace and calmness, regardless of what is happening outside of you.

BECAUSE ONLY WHEN YOUR MIND IS CALM, THAT IS, WHEN YOU BRING YOURSELF INTO SUCH A STATE OF PEACEFULNESS THAT YOU STOP YOUR THOUGHTS, IN THOSE MOMENTS YOU SEE THE SITUATION AS IT REALLY IS.

TO BE CONTINUED.

goals
Like

About the Creator

srdjan korac

I love the written word, I use it as a guide, but not as a final destination

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.