Motivation logo

When in Doubt, Ground Yourself

Acknowledging and Neutralizing Sneaky Fear Stuff

By Linda Simpson Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
neutralizingwithlove.com.au

This story was pushed into being because I recognized a moment in time where I felt myself being drawn in by unknown fears and I was surprised at how well these fears had affected me. It was just a little, but enough that I noticed; enough that I realized my disconnect feelings and energy.

I believe that the more aware of who you are and how the world looks to you; the more conscious you are and the fears need to become more subtle for them to stay active (undercover) in your being.

This applies to our existing set of circumstances here in the effects of the pandemic and other ongoing rifts amongst our fellow human beings, as well as any other moment of fear in life.

• Maybe it’s a loved one going through pain

• Maybe it’s not being sure about going out to do the shopping

• It doesn’t matter what Maybe it is.

In my own experience, related to this sneaky under the radar fear stuff, I see that on the surface, and in my current belief, that I’m in the flow, I’m coping and I’m happy. Then some small instance shows me that this ‘coping’ is a myth that my brain has served up to me while it carries on with fear and conspiracy theories in the back ground. The point of awareness comes when I feel myself over reacting to something where usually I’d feel compassion, neutrality and even love.

My point?

Keep an eye on You and really SEE how you’re responding to life. Create and embed a habit of checking in to yourself; feeling into your body for where stress lives; or where stress can hide out.

• Maybe your responses are sluggish

• Maybe you’re a little too much in what my hubby calls ‘The Ooohm Mode’

• Listen to the words you’re saying

• Listen to how you receive information

• FEEL your body to see and understand where the stress is hiding out

My Big Key here is to actually SEE this Current Stressed You as soon as possible and as soon as you really SEE how you’re responding and moving in life, as soon as you really Know you’re not totally in the flow, then as soon as possible just GROUND YOURSELF.

It doesn’t matter what this looks like. It doesn’t matter where you’re at or who you’re with. In the moment where you figure out that you’re travelling out of sync, then Ground Yourself.

Just in case you don’t have a quick solution to Grounding - I have some quick solutions, ones that I use all the time.

Counting Breathing

BREATHE

A beautiful friend (thanks Estelle) shared this one to her FB group and I’ve adopted it. I call it 3, 4, 5, 6, breathing.

• BREATHE IN slowly for the count of 1 2 3 4

• HOLD your breath here for 5 4 3 2 1

• BREATHE OUT slowly for 6 5 4 3 2 1

• Hold again for 1 2 3

Repeat this breathing until you find yourself yawning, this shows oxygenation and is a sure sign you’re back on track, back in connection with yourself.

BEING IN THE CIRCUIT

This quick method links your meridians and links you back to above and below. You can use this anytime and especially after you’ve done a breathing exercise.

• If possible do this with your eyes closed

• Rub your fore finger gently across the base of your nose, on the gristle between your nose and your upper lip. Do this slowly for 5 seconds

• Now gently massage the outer edge of your ears for a similar amount of time, from top to lobe then back up again, repeat.

• From here, rub your coccyx, the little mound at the center top of your butt

• Now feel the difference and have appreciation for this feeling.

• You’ll probably yawn again; this shows that you’re on the right track.

FIGURE EIGHT

I’ve been shown this a few times with the most recent being during an online course I took through Colette Baron-Reid and it’s another of those incredibly simple moves that settle you, connect you and create balance.

Using the lightest touch of your favourite fingertip draw a figure eight around where your glasses or sunglasses rim would be.

• Place your finger tip at the outside edge of your left eyebrow,

• Run it gently down and come along the eye socket bone,

• Come up and over the bridge your nose,

• Travelling up and across the right eyebrow,

• Then gently rub down under the eye following the eye socket,

• And link back across the bridge of your nose,

• Returning across the left eyebrow back to where you started.

Keep gently following this pattern until you yawn which, as we’ve acknowledged before, is a clear sign you’re back on track and connected.

I do hope these ideas serve you well in your journey and your life. You can find more of my work on the Neutralizing With Love website so have a browse of the contents and enjoy more of my Vision Journeys, Meditations and Mind Walks.

Also, please show your happy by clicking the heart button and sending a tip if any of my work and offerings really assist you in your world xox

Sending Love and Hugs out over the airwaves to YOU, LINDA

advice
Like

About the Creator

Linda Simpson

Storyteller, Urban Farmer, Love Bubble Distributor

I enjoy my life to the full, whether working in Our Small Urban Farm or uplifting and enabling beautiful beings in their spirituality, their journey. Love is my Magic and my Alchemy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.