Motivation logo

What's the Plan?

What to Do, Exactly

By Natasha BoehmPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

“When would you like to meet again?” Jason asked.

Glancing over, I was shocked to see his calendar. He had scheduled everything from the moment he woke up until the moment he went to bed! Laundry, grocery shopping, reading, journaling, exercise, Bible study… you name it. It was probably there!

“How do you find time for anything?”

“My pal, Hal Elrod, said it best, ‘Those who only do what they feel like… don’t do much. To be successful at anything, you must take action even when you don’t feel like it, knowing that the action itself will produce the motivation you need to follow through.’ Each activity on my calendar, no matter how trivial it appears, is there because I know that this is what I need to do to meet the goals I have set for myself.”

I knew exactly what he was saying! I was already on a quest for personal growth at the time, so the idea of scheduling personal time wasn’t foreign to me. In fact, I had been reading Hal’s book, Miracle Morning, but Jason is the first person I met who actually honored the system by writing activities in his calendar and followed through.

I learn a great deal about people by simply scheduling meetings. It never ceases to amaze me the vast differences that are out there. From the ultra-scheduled Jasons of the world who understand the difference between busyness and purposeful scheduling, to the naturally spontaneous people like me, I have learned that success and significance in life come from one act: Living with intentionality.

How often do you hear people say this? “I’m going to try to…” or “IF I have time, I’ll…” Those people may have very good intentions. Their ideas may be fantastic, but at the end of the day, they all too often feel disappointed because they didn’t have time. They are the people who may be cruising along life’s path singing “Hakuna Matata.” If you want that essay help online just press the button. They seem to have no worries, yet at the same time, they stick to a safe path never daring to venture far. They’ve settled for what can make them happy where they are or simply accepted that this is the way life is. Ultimately, their disappointment lies in never being able to meet face to face with their dreams.

People who live with intentionality accomplish their goals go above and beyond the strategy of hard work because they know that hard work doesn’t guarantee success, and neither does hope. People who live intentionally understand that they need a growth plan. Growth creates a greater awareness within us and allows us to see the gaps between where we are and where we would like to be.

As a musician, I began learning the value of a strategic growth plan at an early age. The lessons I took also taught me how to be intentional in accomplishing the goals I set for myself. It wasn’t until many years later that I realized that there is a process. I had applied them (unknowingly), again and again, to various goals I set for myself. I found great joy in sharing the plan with hundreds of piano students over the years:

  1. What is your goal? (Identify the problem.)
  2. How are you going to accomplish it? (Identify the solution to the problem.)
  3. Take bite size pieces. Identify items you can work on daily to accomplish the desired outcome. Realize that a small effort each day builds into something big. We don’t have to tackle the entire problem at once.
  4. Share your goals with others. Sharing goals provides accountability and support from others who care.
  5. Schedule the time to “get good” daily on your own, but also schedule the time to share progress with others.
  6. Be open to a greater awareness at the end of the week that there may still be some room for growth. After all, that is what teachers, coaches, and mentors are for! They help you to continue to take steps toward your greater potential.
  7. Living out a growth plan with great intentionality is the greatest lesson I have learned. Can you create a growth plan on your own? Sure, you can.
"People are anxious to improve their circumstances, but are unwilling to improve themselves; they therefore remain bound.”~ James Allen, As a Man Thinketh

Do you have a plan for your personal growth? I remember a time when I longed for someone to help me—a time when I didn’t think that it was possible to participate in classes, find a mentor, or afford a coach. Now that I have seen and fully understand the value, I have an incredible passion to help those around me. Don’t let fear stand in your way. Remember, we have unlimited possibilities!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.