Motivation logo

What Resolution Really Means

by Robyn Lynn Moss

By Robyn Moss Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Resolution. We throw this word around so often without really realizing the real meaning behind it. So many people use this word to change something they don’t like about themselves. According to the dictionary, there are six different definitions of this word. This will be a dissection of the different meanings of the word resolution and how they intertwine with each other to make having resolutions work for you. I will then share with you what my resolution is.

Resolution (n.)

1. a firm decision to do or not to do something.

This is perhaps the most popular definition of this word only because this is what people interpret new year’s resolutions to be. I used to be like every other overweight individual and say that my resolution is to lose weight or to eat healthier. The weight loss industry’s sales soar sky high in January because this is the #1 new year’s resolution. The thing about this definition is it’s a fad. Some people do find success with it, but only if they have been taught to use the word resolution correctly.

2. the quality of being determined or resolute.

The word resolution is a noun, but this definition of it, makes it act like a verb. This is blatantly saying that resolution is the action of being determined and making the decision happen. So, until the action is put behind the word, nothing long term will come out of it.

3. the action of solving a problem, dispute, or contentious matter.

This definition explains the realization and need to make a resolution. As I said before, most resolutions are fads: to eat healthier, exercise more, save money, quit smoking, learn something new, read more, etc. However, to accomplish any one of these or whatever your resolution may be, there must be a realization that there needs to be a change.

4. As in chemistry - the process of reducing or separating something into its components. As in physics - the replacing of a single force or other vector quantity by two or more jointly equivalent to it.

The brain has the power over the body. Once your body is in connection with your brain, you can accomplish anything. At times there may be a disconnect, but the good news is you can always find that connection again.

5. the smallest interval measurable by a scientific instrument; the resolving power.

Some synonyms of this definition are focus, clarity, clearness, visibility, precision, and sharpness. These words are ways to help you visualize your resolution and how you feel about achieving your goals.

6. the conversion of something abstract into another form .

This is the actual result once your resolution is complete or in the process of being complete. The change will be evident because you have put your mind and body into motion and have gone through or are going through the process of an entire resolution, having emerged changed from the way you started out.

Now, at the beginning I said I would go into what my resolution is. Here is a little peek into who I am and how I am resolving to change my life for the better.

From when I was a little girl until just a few weeks ago, I have always let one thing rule over me. Fear. I gave in to it every single time. Figuratively speaking, I would take off flying with an idea or a decision of change or resolve, but then fear and doubt would creep up and I would lose focus and crash.

Throughout my life I would want something, know I could achieve it, make progress toward the finish line, then fear would come in and cause me to doubt. I would lose the target and the reasons behind why I wanted the resolution in the first place, then everything would fall apart.

Here is one example. I love writing. I love letting my imagination wander and spill out on paper. When I read back what I write, most times I am astonished I wrote it. Three years ago, I developed an idea and plan about a book series. I was motivated and I went right to work. I finished the first book and with the help of my parents, I got it published. I felt so accomplished that I had my name on a published, tangible book.

Getting the book published was actually the easy part. Then came the marketing and exposure. That is when the fear and doubt crept up and I lost all focus. Fear started talking to me. It said, nobody is going to like your book. Nobody will want to read it or buy it. You are not good enough. Those words really echoed through my head. So, it failed. I failed.

I can’t even tell you how many times things like this has happened to me. It affected my childhood, my adulthood, my relationships with family and friends, and even my marriage. The worst part about it is that I didn’t even know what the problem was.

One day I had an eureka moment. I was arguing with my husband again about something I let slip through the cracks. Then he came right out and said it, “It’s like with your book. You got it out there but didn’t do anything with it. You never finish what you start.”

I completely stopped in my tracks and my life literally flashed before my eyes. It felt like a lifetime of seeing exactly where I went wrong, of what I could have done differently. I broke down and apologized that I had allowed fear to cripple me. From that point on, I vowed never to allow fear to control me again.

Since my epiphany, I have come to realize that I am a strong, talented woman. I made the resolution to change my thinking and behavior using all the definitions above. I am still in the process of resolution as it takes patience and dedication, determination and focus. Though, I am pleased that I am finally allowing myself to function in my purpose instead of running around in circles without any clear direction.

However, like the definition of resolution number four, there must be a conscious decision to keep your brain and body connected. This will be my lifetime commitment to staying fearless and to live my life with meaning and intention.

I am good enough!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Robyn Moss

Long ago, a little girl loved to write. She loved to explore the depths of her mind and create the impossible. That little girl still sits in the back of my mind waiting to pursue those dreams. I am now 39, a wife, and a mother of three.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.