Motivation logo

What Karma Did You Carry Over from Your Past Lives?

3 Examples of karmic carryover from past lifetimes

By Jocelyn Joy ThomasPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

When my son was a toddler he used to hold a crayon like a cigarette. No one around him smoked, although he could have seen it on tv. Still, it made me curious about why he would do this. The idea of a past life did occur to me but I didn’t know much about them at that time.

That didn’t last for long, my curiosity over past lives was strong, I soon started to learn more. I read books by Edgar Cayce and studied the Akashic Records, a place where all of our past lifetimes are recorded. I eventually learned how to read past lives for myself and others. This is how I got my start as an intuitive reader.

Naturally one of my first questions was to ask about my son’s odd crayon habit. I found the answer did indeed lie in a past lifetime.

Seeing into the past

When I view a past life, I am taken into a scene from that life, it gives me enough information to know when and where it took place. Then it sort of fast forwards to significant scenes from that life. The significant scenes of a lifetime are what we will potentially carry over karmically.

I saw my son as a man in his 40’s, he was tall, over 6 feet, with dark brown hair and a full beard. He lived in Boston, it was the 1960’s, he had a beatnik look to him. I saw him living in an apartment off the ground, an upper floor. He was a writer usually working from home, I saw his typewriter and next to it an ashtray. He would smoke a lot when he wrote.

One night it was late, he had run out of cigarettes, he decided to go to the corner store. As he got closer to the store, he noticed a man being mugged by two other men. He decided to intervene, he was stabbed in the chest and died shortly thereafter.

An example of how karmic memory is carried over

My son’s soul didn’t sit well with that, like a lot of murders it wasn’t his time, the free will of another had ended his life prematurely. So, he reincarnated quickly, and a large part of his life goals now are the goals he had in his past life that was cut short.

For example, he has always loved to write and has a natural ability to. He loves the Boston Red Sox despite that we have lived on the west coast for his entire life. He likes Bay Area teams too, but the Red Sox are special to him. There are personal details I left out from what I learned of my son’s past life that fit into this one. One of the most interesting is that he has a birthmark on his chest, shaped in a line, which resembles a stab wound.

What about you?

Do you have any memories of past lifetimes? The answer is yes! We all do.

The thing is, the memories aren’t conscious level for the most part. Our soul has the information stored, a lot like a computer has files tucked away on its hard drive. Some part of you remembers being in Medieval France, or the Roman Empire. What we carry over will usually be parts of our past that are for whatever reason stuck.

We may not have completed something important to use back then, like my son wanting to come back and be a writer. We may have had some type of tragedy occur and we need to heal still. Or we may just really feel connected to something we did before and it's become a part of us.

Karma is essentially memory, and when we move on from a lifetime, we carry the memory with us on a soul level. Some of it is dormant when we reincarnate, although what we want to balance, heal or work with again will be felt by us once more. Not necessarily consciously, but it won’t be dormant like other past life memories. It will repeat until we are able to complete the lessons and experiences.

Here are some things to consider.

Birthmarks

When we cross over the experiences that we encounter go with us. How we cross over can be particularly memorable. So memorable in fact, that when the soul comes into physical form once more the imprint of that event can leave a mark, or a birthmark to be exact.

My son's knife wound birthmark is one example. I have a birthmark on the back of my neck, where I was beheaded in a past life, lovely. You might think we would be covered in birthmarks given how many past lives we can have. I find it’s only if there is something unresolved from that life, something we have carried over that leaves the mark, or some other type of carryover.

Phobias

Sometimes the mark that is left doesn’t show on our physical body but is an emotional one. We can have unwarranted fears about things like water, tight spaces, bridges, vehicles, ships, dogs or other animals, and many more.

Whatever took us out in a past lifetime can linger in our unconscious mind and cause fear today. From the soul’s perspective, everything is happening at once, the soul isn’t in time like we are right now. The way to break out of a phobia is to learn about the past life, or if you suspect one, simply tell yourself I am here in the present and say the date. Might sound odd, but it helps. You might have to repeat it a few times until the information is updated.

Talents

Not all things we carry over are negative. They can be positives as well. My son was always a strong writer. I was able to do readings relatively easily and meditate as well, from past lifetimes where I was a spiritual practitioner. Some people might be able to take up a musical instrument or learn a foreign language easily. It doesn’t mean you will be a master of whatever talent, it just means that you don’t struggle with it as others do. It’s a little like muscle memory, some part of you just knows how to do it. If you let your mind get out of the way, the talent can rise to the surface faster.

Past lives are an interesting part of our story. They tell us where we have been and help us understand who we are today. The people we once were aren’t as far away as you might think, and their memories are even closer yet.

healing
1

About the Creator

Jocelyn Joy Thomas

Writer, spiritual teacher, and travel enthusiast. Enjoying the journey! Join my mailing list and receive a free guide on How to Meet Your Guides in Three Steps!

https://joysnewsletter.weebly.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.