Motivation logo

What is Success and Have I Achieved it?

Here's my definition of success and what lead me to it.

By Bailey CloughPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

In grade 10, my civics and careers teacher assigned us a project on what success means to us. I thought long and hard about what that word meant to me; money, fancy cars, a big house, and the one thing I really believed in.

"My definition of Success is finding true happiness in whatever I chose to do with my life. To be successful at my job, I need to be happy with my career."

This is something I still live by to this day; this is what got me to where I am today.

In high school, and even before then, I was being told you need to go to University if you want to be successful. I'm not saying that statement is right or wrong, I'm saying that depends on the person.

If someone wants to be a Lawyer, you have to go to University. And yes, Lawyers appear to be successful. So this made sense to me from a very young age.

All through high school, I cared more about my grades then living my life. I didn't party, I didn't do anything crazy, I was 100% focused on homework and the person I wanted to be. I had it in my mind that I was going to go to University and be the first one in my family to take that path.

It didn't hit me until grade 12 that University really wasn't my dream, it was my families dream for me. I never shut the door on University; my grades were good and I stayed in the Academic/University Stream, even took an AP English class. At this point, I decided to go to University and College presentations/tours so that I could really decide what I wanted.

I remember going to Conestoga College's tour with my school, I was the only University Stream student going, and my peers asked me;

"Are you sure you want to waste your time going to the college fair?"

"You're using this as an excuse to leave class"

"Why are you here? It's not like you're going to go to college anyways."

I found my dream program that day. I spent 3 years at that college, completed 2 summer co-op's, graduated and received an advanced diploma. My program was not easy; my years in the Academic/University Stream in high school prepared me for it.

Did I go to University after college like I told my family I would to get them off my back for choosing College? Absolutely not.

Do I wish I went to University? Sometimes, but would I have regretted it? Absolutely.

Let me explain.

Both of my summer co-op positions lead me to my current career choice and position. My first co-op was at a family owned construction management company; I was a Project Manager Assistant. My summer consisted of a lot of paperwork; cutting contracts, purchase orders, tender documents, RFI's. Whatever was asked of me, I completed.

My second co-op was at a engineering firm where I was a CAD Monkey. I spent all my time on AutoCAD, Revit, Rhino, and any other drawing software. I hated my life that summer. Maybe it was the long drive, or maybe it was because I sat in a cubicle and spoke to no one all day and drew on a computer. I'm not saying its a horrible job, I was just not meant for it.

I currently work for the company that I completed my first co-op at. I am now a Project Coordinator, which is basically the same thing as what I was on my co-op. I have worked hard to prove myself to the company and have slowly worked my way up to managing my own, small, projects. I am putting in the time and making my way to being a Project Manager, which I can confidently say is my dream job.

Do I have a lot of money, a big house and a fancy car? Nope. I make an entry level salary, currently still live at home and drive a Kia Rio.

I am the happiest I have ever been. I love my job, I love my family, I love my life and I love my friends. So the question is;

Did I find Success? Absolutely.

success
Like

About the Creator

Bailey Clough

I'm 22 years old and working my ass off everyday to be the best version of myself.

Welcome to some insight on how I am trying to achieve my goals, or what I have done to achieve them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.