Motivation logo

What Is So Wrong About Not Wanting To Need People

We Should All Strive To Be Self-Reliant

By Frederick EmersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
What Is So Wrong About Not Wanting To Need People
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

“No man is an island unto himself.” — John Donne

BULLSHIT!

We are not islands but universes of possibility.

I will never understand why people get so butthurt over the idea of a person striving to become a person who only needs themselves.

When I tell people I am striving to become fully self-reliant and not need anyone, it is often looked at with scorn.

"You can’t do everything by yourself."

“Stop being so arrogant; everyone needs help."

"Wha..what…I AM NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU?"

And pay attention to that last statement.

I find that people really and truly value a community.

They value being needed by others.

In my honest opinion, they seem to depend on other people strongly, so much so that they are not too different from addicts.

"Hey, man! Hey, man! You want to hang out all night, man. I'll make it worth your while."

“Nah, bro! I gotta get to work.”

"You always working, man. All work and no play make Jack a dull boy, man. Come on, man. Let us hang out, man."

Scratching like they got the junkie itch!

People, I swear, are so needy.

As an introvert, I find being around people all the time to be extremely annoying and tiring AF!

Well, I don't mind the company of A PERSON.

One-on-ones are always fun for me.

But when we get into anything past three people, I will not lie; I usually up and leave.

I find communities annoying because the HERD SHEEP MENTALITY always seems to form and what I see with most people is that they are so unaware of how they lose track of their own thinking and individuality.

They become like sheep, bees, ants, all capitulating to the will of the group.

ONE OF US! ONE OF US! ONE OF US!

NO!

I don't want to be one of you; I want to be me.

What is so wrong with wanting to be me?

People will say, and I am sure some commenters will write below — “NO ONE WANTS YOU,” all while foaming away at the mouth while they type out ferociously.

And great.

Not everyone wants to be needed, and I sure as hell don't want to need others.

When you need others, you place so much power into their hands.

And I think this is why so many people get mad at me for saying I don't want to need others, and I want to be a man who needs no one.

What I think people hear when they hear me say this is:

"You will not have any control over my life, so deal with it."

And to people who have capitulated their character and their selves to the group over and over and over — to have someone show them, they will not do as they have done is a great slap in the face.

I think some people feel shame for not having a backbone and not living to be who they wanted but living as what others wanted them to be.

I don't ever want to need anyone in my life.

This is not to say that I don't want to have people in my life; family, friends, lovers.

But if we are to be together, it will be under the terms we are with each other because we CHOOSE TO BE, not because WE NEED TO BE.

Some of us DO know how to think for ourselves, unlike the sheep masses who need others' opinions about what to do with their own damn lives.

So, I say this and do so unapologetically, I DO NOT WANT TO NEED OTHERS IN MY LIFE — and I WILL WORK DAY AND NIGHT TO NEVER EVER NEED OTHERS.

First and foremost, my life is for me, and to the world, be happy if I give you a minute of my time.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Frederick Emerson

I am Frederick Emerson, a prolific blogger with a decade of experience in the digital sphere. Through my thought-provoking content, I have captivated readers and sparked engaging conversations on a wide range of topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.