Motivation logo

What If Your “Overthinking” Is Actually Good for You?

"The happiness of your life depends on the quality of your thoughts." ~ Marcus Aurelius

By Samyog kandelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
What If Your “Overthinking” Is Actually Good for You?
Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

"The happiness of your life depends on the quality of your thoughts." ~ Marcus Aurelius

Too much thinking for me is beginning to question the validity of all these well-meaning advice. If it were so easy to quit, there would not be so much right now.

I can’t help but wonder if we were looking at extremely negative thinking. Can excessive thinking be part of a truly beneficial human condition? Besides, would not evolution produce an entirely new system of things?

Of course, the Universe made no mistake about giving humans a brain that is prone to overthinking. Really, not thinking too much of us is wrong?

Yes, most of the time I feel guilty when I'm told "you think too much" and "don't think about it." Is there something wrong with me?

Years of Thinking Before a Health Decision

As long as they didn’t know, I thought a lot. This has worked well for me at school and at work, as I became well-known for my analytical skills and thinking ability.

However, when it comes to personal matters such as family, relationships, or workplace problems, these deep-seated thinking abilities appear to be overwhelming.

Several years back, I was facing a failed marriage and posting a new challenge at the same time. Amidst the stress and unhappiness, I found my brain constantly thinking about what was happening and what I could do.

As I thought and thought, the situation seemed hopeless. I wanted to leave the marriage - but what about our child, our financial obligations, our religion, our united family? I wanted to quit this job - what if I couldn't find a better job because of my age, my specialized knowledge, unemployment, personal characteristics?

When I tried to share all these thoughts with friends, I was often drawn to the idea of ​​"thinking too much".

At first, I thought the problem was really my own. I wish I was not overly critical.

But was I thinking too much? These were important factors, should we not consider them before making decisions?

It was painful when people seemed indifferent to the fear and anxiety that I felt when I thought deeply about the problems. Since they wouldn’t try to understand, I think I should have stopped telling them.

Now I can confidently say, if it were not for the tightness of my thoughts back then, I would not have had a smooth divorce and a change of career at the same time. It didn't happen by chance - it came from a careful, careful thinking that allowed me to take steps to reduce the potential for a fall.

I planned and made my divorce and job change as I made a multi-million dollar contract. For some, they may have been overly concerned. For me, it was worth thinking.

Definition of Abstract Thinking - Non-Natural Evil

Exaggeration alone has already been misinterpreted. According to The Cambridge Dictionary, excessive thinking is “an obsessive-compulsive disorder.”

Let me draw two meanings in the description.

First, the word “excess” is a controlling term. It requires a “fair” standard as a basis for comparison. Isn’t that a good line between “excessive thinking” and “positive thinking”? Where you draw that line may be very different from where I draw it.

And just as there may be "too much," there is also the possibility that "too little." Not thinking enough about the problems can be as dangerous, as they are.

Second, it is "useless" and is a very effective word. Let me give you a simple example:

A little girl goes to the store to buy her mother a capsicum. Her mother had forgotten to specify the color of the capsicum she had been looking for. The little girl is standing looking at the capsicum variety in the store, wondering for a long time what color to buy.

If you were to look at a girl, you might wonder, 'Why does he take so long to make the decision? You must be very thoughtful, just choose any color! ”For you, thinking about the color of the capsicum you can buy is definitely not helpful.

But the girl knows the opposite. The mother is angry that a few can tolerate it. By the time he finally brought in the usual carrots instead of the baby carrots, his mother had gone into violence, screaming at his voice and making him sit up for his stupidity. Thinking carefully about what color capsicum you can buy certainly helps a girl avoid the same punishment.

Although her mother did not specify the color, the girl carefully remembers what her mother may have been cooking and that her mother had used a certain color before. It takes longer than usual but you do a calculated estimate.

What works for him may not work for you or me. Do we have enough information to judge?

Luckily, that little girl was me.

Why Useful Thinking So Often Mistake As More Thinking There?

People often do not have the time or patience to listen. And we are not particularly good at explaining and summarizing our thoughts well.

Without enough knowledge and understanding of each other's lives, judging many of us who think too much can easily arise.

Think about it, how many people in your life have used your time to understand your problems and the processes of your thinking? One or two good friends? And perhaps therapists and counselors are not paid to do so.

Many times, after hearing our problems in depth, these friends and therapists understand where we come from and help us achieve greater clarity about our problems.

The more we think about a story, the more likely we are to spread the word in depth - we see all the angles, good and bad.

self help
1

About the Creator

Samyog kandel

I am a passionate writer, trying to inspire other through my story..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.