Motivation logo

What do you do that makes you?

I paint and I draw

By Kathy ReedPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sunnyside woman by Kathy Reed

9/17/2020

What do you do that makes you?

I paint and draw

Written by: Kathy Reed

There is nothing to do, yes there is

Today I sit and think as I normally do. There is just the howling wind and the life that I breathe. Nothing that really tells me left or right. I think that with or without a job that I would be the exact same person. If there was nothing at all to do today, then I would have to see if I had the money to paint or draw. I know that life really just depends on money, so that is the only factor on whether or not that gets done. It seems like after work, I know that what relaxes me is no longer being 20's something and listening to lil' John, unfortunately, no one wants to see my old but shake around any longer.

So I sit to the easel. As if I have gotten myself here somehow. I start to paint what is in my mind. For the long days of life, it seems like the painting has to speak as if to say that everything is alright.

Blind art by unknown artist

and will be alright. You just have to know that it exists. What we have in our hearts moves time and not money. As long as you do it when you have the money, then the heart is fulfilled. The love of art is far more then the love of sleep or waiting. You have to know this and continue to keep seeing it come to pass. I know that the journey there is so tuff and it is as if you will never have anything but your day job, which is true, but the love you put into something is what makes you likable everywhere you go, even that day job.

So what nobody cares, yes they do

So now that you have spent the money and feel like you, you sit at the easel sip your wine and begin. Your lines are worryful, you wonder about tomorrow, and you begin to dream about the impossible. Yet you manage to get through the making of this art that means something only to you once it's done, once it dries once you have spent the money.

For the love of money by Megan Duncanson

You didn't count the time you spent on yourself. The life surrounds you no matter if you see it or not. You have to invest in yourself, whether you see it or not. When you are taught in school, you never ever see the time the teacher invested in the class, all you see is how to do it. You have to invest time and effort into it yourself and sit in your own timing to see what it's about. This is something that you have to pay for with mental time. Because it really does and doesn't say those things, for instance, if your late to class, that is what it will say, if your late to your own painting, it doesn't say anything, that is not a good thing.

This is stupid, to who

So now you have figured out what you love to do. Sip wine and paint. You have invested the $20.o0 it takes to buy a canvas and paint. You have came home and ignored all the road rage, rent due in two weeks reminders, even hunger, you have ignored the meaningless heart patterns of undecidedness and chosen this. You can complete your task. Let it dry and hang it up. This is you. You are an artist. That is your cup of coffee, your reason for coffee. Your a million things and this is one of them. You can now leave and get back to life. So as long as your painting hangs in the background.

Sources: Google.com, Bing.com, Pinterest.com

Websites: https://fineartamerica.com/featured/metallic-gold-dollar-sign-for-the-love-of-money-mini-pop-art-painting-madart-megan-duncanson.html, Pinterest.com

Photos by: Megan Duncanson, Unknown artist, and Kathy Reed.

Written by: Kathy Reed

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Kathy Reed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.