Motivation logo

What am I thankful for in 2020

How lockdown helped me understand myself

By stephanie borgesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Preslie Hirsch on Unsplash

If there is one thing this pandemic did that helped me and be thankful for, it gives me time to analyze my mental health. I was born with ADHD, and over the years, I have had difficulty understanding why I was the way I was. I won’t get into full detail about my past, But I will say this, it had to do with a lot of the medication I was taking when I was younger wasn’t taking much effect until I got older. I was rushing on everything. Schoolwork and jobs. Which was a big “NO,” especially on a new job. During the lockdown, when I got on unemployment because of Covid-19. I analyze that every time I would land a new job, I was working fast and making a lot of mistakes.

I was doing that because I wanted to show I can get the work done quickly. But it doesn’t matter if your fast on the job because you or your supervisor will have to fix the mistake made later on in the day, and that takes up time and delay the assignment, so after two weeks on the job, I would be let go. I would always stay at a job longer that wasn’t in my field, like working on the assembly line or pulling orders and shipping them. You know the saying, “you have to learn how to crawl before you can walk.” Well, I was trying to sprint before I was trying to walk. So, by not rushing to finish, I have gotten better in my employment. I learn not to rush on the first few days of being hired, you are there to understand what it is you supposed to do, and when you have mastered what it is, you can start going a bit faster one day at a time. I am happy and thankful I learn this lesson because I’m staying longer in my field and doing freelance work like writing blogs and other content. There are other things I’m thankful for, such as:

I am thankful I still have a place I can call home because of COVID-19; many people have lost their homes. Having a home is my top priority to be thankful for. It is nice to be working from home. I do have other things and dreams I am grateful for. For starters, I am thankful I have been able to make one of my dreams come true. I am proud to say I am writing a book and a graphic novel. And it is on its way to getting published. The story is a dark comedy about a were-rabbit named Noiba who narrates how he got revenge on a so-called friend and got his dream job. My book is called Two shakes of a tail.

I’m thankful I was able to get my first new car from a dealership. Since I was 22 years old, I always had a used car, and sometimes it would break out. I would cry because all my money would go to fix my crappy vehicle at the time. Now I take good care of the new car. It’s a Toyota, in case you were wondering what it was.

I am thankful I started to talk to one of my cousins. We hadn’t spoken to each other for over 20 years. There are still two cousins, who I will never talk to because they are assholes. (it is a long, lousy family story) We were going to spend Thanksgiving day together, and I would make a chocolate and vanilla checkerboard cake with fondant icing. But, thanks to another lockdown, it will not happen so, it might be Christmas when I see my cousin again.

Every year for Thanksgiving, I would go to my family’s home or vice versa; everyone says what they are thankful for. But this year, I will be celebrating at home with my mom and husband.

healing
1

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.