Motivation logo

VOCAL+: The Writing Platform For Professional Writers

Why I joined Vocal+

By Irene MielkePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Sign up for Vocal + today!

I realize many of you may have just graduated high-school at this time, and are looking into a path for your future. I think Vocal + is such a friendly supportive environment!

Vocal + is awesome!

Vocal + is a beautiful, wonderful place.

Online stories for you to read and share.

Can you write your feelings and read originals?

Are you prepared to share and sign up?

Love is a universal language that Vocal + follows.

I understand if you have second thoughts, I saw the ads too and didn't jump on board right away, but now I did, and I'm in love with the platform!

You probably relate to me, and let me share a little bit of my story:

I never fit in in high school, and nor did I fit in in life. The other children at school constantly bullied me as a child in elementary school. I found my sense of belonging in writing! I have always read many books as an avid reader, mainly: "The Babysitters Club" by Ann M. Martin. Those were my favorite books, and they taught me about what entrepreneurship is because of how the main character ran her babysitters club starting in only grade 7.

As a child, I had that, and I'd get lost in the characters' worlds and make them my friends. My imagination was wild, and my dreams were huge. I couldn't share my thoughts with the ordinary person because I'd have scattered pages of jot notes. I must admit that writing was what I chose as my path to healing.

Without writing, I thought I had zero support in the world, but the truth is, I found my community with other writers, and I learned I share a village with them and that they also go through the world misunderstood, reserved, and shy like me, and we find writing as our voice. As writers, we are not alone. We are fascinating people who have the imagination others only dream of, and Vocal + allows us to embrace it in a non-judgment-free zone.

I am not here to give unsolicited advice, only to share my love for writing with others who love writing.

I always practice my writing, but one thing I enjoy is the energy of others' feedback on the things I've written. Before Vocal / Vocal +, I never quite had that platform for myself. I tried all the other platforms for writing. Still, it's like I was always writing behind someone else's brand, never in a place where I felt free to write my perspectives, stories, and original thoughts so that people could see my writing talents and showcase my portfolio to get work.

Artists always have a portfolio to showcase their work. Actors always have a reel to showcase their work. I wanted my portfolio to showcase my writing too! What do writers have?

Most people who hire us with freelance job offers want to see our work portfolio before hiring us, and platforms like Vocal / Vocal + are fantastic for precisely this.

I also enjoy the challenges here, which give me a platform to improve my writing. To become good at anything, we need to practice, and who knows, if we all stay on here long enough, we may go on to become successful published authors making those who've given us this opportunity at Vocal / Vocal + proud of us!

Why should you choose Vocal / Vocal +?

I think Vocal / Vocal + is excellent if you want to pursue a professional career in writing, and it can open the doors to all kinds of successful paths. It also allows you to grow your audience through its website and brand yourself as a writer without running around pursuing publishing companies, which is what we had to do over a decade ago if we wanted to publish a book!

Four things I like about Vocal:

#1. Vocal treats its writers in the form of a business partnership.

#2. Vocal gives you the tools to excel and grow as a writer by creating your online profile and you tips for online challenges that offer you monetary prizes.

#3. If you support other writers and other writers support you, eventually, you're able to monetize your work!

#4. The community on Vocal is very family-friendly!

advice
3

About the Creator

Irene Mielke

Hi,

I am Irene. I am an aspiring blogger and writer looking to influence the next generation towards their dreams. I want the rest to know that age is just a #, and you're never too old to begin a new dream from scratch.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.