Motivation logo

Vocal.Media Support Group

Are you a fellow Vocal writer in search of support and feedback?

By Kelsey ReichPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
19

I first joined Vocal after seeing an ad on Facebook for the Night Owl challenge which ended on January 19/2021. At that moment I was feeling down on myself because I had completely misread a deadline for a short story competition but then this little ad showed up. The deadline was midnight that night and the only story requirements were to include a barn owl. With the clock ticking I reviewed my short story, made some quick corrections, and came out with an incredible vision in my mind.

Imagine driving down a road. It’s dark, foggy, forests and mountains are looming on either side when suddenly the glowing specter of an owl appears on the road. You slam on the breaks just in time. The barn owl, with its wide oval face, turns to look at you and to your horror it spreads its wings, flying straight through your windshield and out the other side, feathers brushing your cheek.

This was the story I wanted to be writing. I didn’t know if others would care to read it, but it felt damn good to get that email saying my story had been published and entered into the challenge. Soon after I started looking for support from fellow Vocal Media users. I stumbled upon a couple of Facebook groups. In one of them was a woman, Teisha Leshae.

She was so active and engaging, I almost thought she was the admin until a few short days later I received a message from her. She had been blocked by the admin of the group and decided to create the Vocal Creators Saloon. And she wanted me to do weekly writing prompts for it! That was February 13/2021.

Since I’ve joined the group it has been steadily growing. It’s engaging, supportive, and has a few other Vocal stars on it including Laquesha Bailey who placed first for the In the Stars and second for the Dear New Year challenges. Samantha Kaszas placed first in the Cozy Corner and third in the Dream Home challenges. Thorn Everbloom placed third in The Mystery of Bitcoin and the Cozy Corner challenges. Three amazing people I can’t believe I know, plus, at the time of writing this 79 members and counting. Many of which have been incredibly positive and supportive.

Teisha and everyone else in the group have been holding me accountable for my writing goals and helping me fly past them. Every week, Teisha has been checking in asking what our goals are, then asking if we met them later the same week. We’ve been sharing our challenge entries (of which I am very far behind on reading, sorry all) and motivating everyone to keep trying. We’ve been sharing our success stories whether it is reaching 100 reads or 1000. There are helpful tips on writing, using social media, and FAQs for Vocal.

Last night I was tapping away at my keyboard when I received an email.

Immediately I had to know who sent it! I guess it should not have surprised me that it was from Teisha. When I messaged her to say thank you, she said something that moved me to tears.

“I loved that story. I hope to write like you one day.”

Yep. That is how supportive this group is. Thank you Teisha, Laquesha, Samantha, Thorn, and the other 75 writers now on the Vocal Creators Saloon. For your kind words, your excessive likes and loves, and for just being there. Here are a couple of stories from other writers in response to those writing prompts I’ve been working on:

Are you a Vocal Creator in search of support? Come join us on Facebook in the Vocal Creators Saloon.

_________________________

Thanks for putting up with me gushing over this group. Please consider supporting my work with a heart and check out my other articles! Let me know what you want to learn about next on FB, Twitter, or Insta @akelseyreich.

Everything is connected. Written by Kelsey Reich on March 5/2021 in Ontario, Canada.

success
19

About the Creator

Kelsey Reich

🏳️‍🌈 Life-long learner, artist, creative writer, and future ecologist currently living in Ontario.

Find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and buy me a coffee @akelseyreich!

Your support is appreciated!

Want to join Vocal+? Click here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.