Motivation logo

Together, We Make One

a community for personal development

By Jamie Lee | STELLA BROWNPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

So I am 14 years old. I am a freshman in high school. My best male friend comes out to me. He likes a boy. He only likes boys. And he’s not ready to tell his family and friends. He’s nervous. He’s vulnerable. And he somehow knew that, with me, he was absolutely safe to be all of himself. With me, a difficult truth to share out loud was just a bit easier and met with kind. With me, anything and everything that is real and human is allowed no matter how hard it is to say. With me, the only hard part is saying it, doing it, being it, whatever it is, in a world that can be so narrow-minded while we cultivate a space of expansive self expression.

Throughout my childhood and adolescence, like every child and adolescent, I assumed this was standard. I assumed empathy and compassion were standard. I assumed that to look out for each other, uplift each other, and empower each other to be our most authentic selves was standard. I assumed kindness and love were standard and took precedence above all things. I assumed we all already knew that we are here to learn, grow, and expand within the limitless nature of the Universe herself.

I assumed, and you know what they say about assuming. You might even be laughing a little to yourself by now. Not because I’m funny (I’m not), but because to an adult with a somewhat jaded mind, it is a silly notion to think this highly of every human on Earth. But I wasn’t an adult yet. I had not yet internalized the experiences that jade us yet. It wasn’t until I experienced deep pain due to the careless actions of others as an adult did I realize that not everybody was so intentional. Not everybody cared.

In my twenties, the world was weird. I never lost hope. I never lost the vision no matter how blurry it got sometimes. I will never not hold space for the greatest potential of humans to exist. But it was weird. To be hurt by somebody feels so unnatural, and more than I wanted revenge or to express my anger, I wanted to know ‘why’. Why would somebody hurt another? Why would somebody not care? Why had they forgotten that by hurting me they are also hurting themselves? I took my questions to the books, to my spirit guides, and to my own journal. I studied psychology, personal health, yoga, and meditation. I began exploring with various divination tools like the tarot and pendulum to connect with my higher self and spirit guides. I put it all into practice everyday and worked it out through words on pages, many words on many pages.

It turns out that hurt people hurt people, and while there are many industries and professionals available to help unpack and navigate that hurt (thank you, healers), our unique layering of trauma is something only the individual can truly shine a light on. Through active participation, alone or with help, we are able to unravel our own pain and show up in the world exactly as we originally intended — with presence, in joy, and with a broader perspective of our eternal connection to one another. Holding this space for others over the last 20 years has produced nothing short of miracles. I've witnessed people change into a more authentic version of themselves and shift more towards love in front of my very eyes. This has given me purpose. This has filled me with more hope and optimism about what is possible. This is my gift.

My passion is in personal development. I know deep in my bones, with everything I am, that the power of individual healing and expansion is a means (perhaps the only means) to create more peace and harmony in the world we all share. It is through us, the parts, that we make the world, the whole, better. A world where more people reflect internally and connect with themselves spiritually is a world in which the parts begin to see they are connected and honor one another as such. This has and always will be at the root of everything I do, everything I stand for, and every project I take on. The pursuit of a kinder world, collective joy, and conscious intention.

People come to me, not for my jokes (we already established that), but for insight and inspiration. They read my words to reconnect with the greater vision. They engage with my story to find strength in their own voice. And they ultimately share themselves to free themselves. They come to me and my words for a lifeline on shitty days. Through my own example and with my work, I inspire change in people. When they can see themselves reflected through me, they remember who they are and start acting like it. They start showing up, little by little, as more of who they have intended to be, who we need them to be.

I’ve created an alias, MS.BROWN. She is all of the best parts of me wrapped up in one entity. She harbors all of the knowledge and wisdom I have tapped into over the years through my extensive studies and global travels. She is my absolute highest self, unphased by the ebb and flow of the human experience. I created her as something to always aspire towards, call on, and channel for wisdom in times of need. She holds the vision and the truth while I get to still navigate what it means to be human. She provides me with endless wisdom to bestow upon us all to develop ourselves, expand our consciousness, and reconnect with a deep love for ourselves and the Universe. She holds the space for all of us to show up as exactly who we are so we can heal, learn, and grow exponentially.

Through her, I create content rooted in her wisdom and love that provides spiritual and practical tools for personal development. Tried and true, I develop digital courses in self love, self inquiry, spiritual attunement, and personal fulfillment. Together, we create a community of conscious and intentional humans that change the world through changing themselves. While most of this work will exist first in the digital world, the intention is to bring people together through retreats and in-person workshops where we can more deeply internalize the work we do individually while coming together as one strong and powerful force.

Daily inspirations and insights. Weekly videos and homework. Monthly meet-ups. And many annual opportunities to come together in retreat to heal, live, and just be. The goal is love. The goal is joy. The goal is living a life of ease. The goal is authentic personal expression. This is my commitment. This is my purpose. This is where I am destined to lead.

In the post-2020 world, not only are people seeking a new ‘normal’, but they are desperately seeking community and growth rooted in love. I am here for it. I am ready for it. Are you?

healing
Like

About the Creator

Jamie Lee | STELLA BROWN

I am here.

I follow my heart.

I heed my intuition.

And life gets better every day.

XO

IG: @_xostellabrown

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.