Motivation logo

Today COVID-19 Is in My Bed and Now I’m Out the Bedroom

Yet There Are Still Reasons to Be Thankful

By Carla DeePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Today COVID-19 Is in My Bed and Now I’m Out the Bedroom
Photo by CDC on Unsplash

I’ve been sleeping on our “not-so-comfy” pull-out bed for the last 8 nights.

My comfy king-sized bed has been off-limits for me since last Sunday. The day my essential job working husband tested positive for COVID-19.

Thankfully for us, my hubby’s bout with the Rona has been mild. Even so, it is still COVID-19. And I am still out of the bedroom until my 14-day quarantine is over.

It Started the Day after Thanksgiving

My hubby was off on Thanksgiving but returned to work on the following Friday. As I stated earlier. He’s considered an “essential worker” as a manager in a distribution center for the world’s largest publicly traded retailer (wink).

He came home that Friday complaining of being “really tired”. On Saturday he was even more tired. So tired that he stayed in bed all day. Although he had none of the other COVID-19 symptoms. We both agreed that he should get tested again and made an appointment for the next day.

The results of the test are of course our present reality. The test was negative for the flu. But confirmed positive for COVID-19. Thankfully he is generally in good health with no underlying conditions. The only prescribed meds were over the counter 500mg Tylenol and Bromfed DM cough syrup in case he started to cough. Thankfully it’s been 8 days and he has not developed a cough.

After My Hubby Tested Positive for COVID-19

By James Yarema on Unsplash

We made two stops after the doctor’s appointment. First, we stopped at the nearest location of the world’s largest publicly traded retailer to pick up his prescribed meds from the pharmacy. And next. We stopped to get dinner because one thing I knew for sure is that I would not be cooking.

So with his official diagnosis paperwork and the prescribed meds in tow. We headed home where he would need to be isolated for the next ten days. We were thankful he would be able to ride out the Rona in the comfort of our home.

Since we live in a two-story house where the master is downstairs separate from all the other bedrooms. It was a no-brainer for us wherein our home my hubby would be isolated.

When we finally arrive home. It was official. COVID-19 would be taking over our bedroom. Which included our bed, bathroom, and closet. And except for providing basic necessary daily care. I would be out of the bedroom for the next 14 days of quarantine. Period.

Packing My Bags to Stay at Home

By Italic on Unsplash

Ok, I’m being a little dramatic. I didn’t actually pack my bags. But, I did throw some clothes and a few other items in a laundry basket. I figured I only needed enough to last a few days since I’d still have free access to our laundry room. Yay. I also packed a small bag of all my daily toiletry essentials. And of course my favorite pillow.

I admit. It was a strange feeling knowing that although I would be at home. I couldn’t be in the same bedroom with my husband. We’ve been married for over thirty years and have shared the bedroom in our current home for fifteen of those years. And now. I was out.

We have a four-bedroom home. However, two of our twenty-something-year-old adult children still occupy their rooms. And after our oldest son moved out. I turned his bedroom into my personal office/writing sanctuary. Yay me. So this is how I ended up sleeping on our “not-so-comfy” pull out bed for the last 8 nights.

Only a Few More Nights To Go

By Steve Johnson on Unsplash

Today is my hubby’s ninth day of isolation. His energy, appetite, and humor have returned. He’s been without a fever for the last two days. Today he’s pushing the limits of his return to a life of normalcy and wants Black Walnut ice cream. I’ve gently reminded him that he only has one more day to go. Whereas I have five more nights on the “not-so-comfy” pull-out bed.

Overall, our experience with COVID-19 has not been too bad. Except for the few days of my hubby fighting off the fever, being lethargic, and having a decreased appetite. (All which are now back to normal). We realize that we have a lot for which to be thankful. And we don’t take it for granted.

We are thankful that our phones are full of calls and texts of daily check-ups, well wishes, and prayers from our extended family and friends. Yesterday a sweet couple even delivered a full meal and a case of bottled water to our doorstep.

And of course, there’s nothing like being surrounded by those you love and cherish most when you are not well. Even if all they can do is open your bedroom door and say hello while from a distance wearing a mask.

We’re Not Completely Out of the Woods

Although things are looking good for us we do understand we aren’t completely out of the woods. Yet, barring any sudden reversals. My hubby can return to his “essential” job on Wednesday as long as he remains fever-free. The young-adults and I will get tested after our fourteen days of quarantine. Even though none of us are exhibiting any symptoms.

A recent check of current COVID-19 numbers shows 67.3 million cases worldwide and 1.54 million deaths. The U.S. number of deaths is highest at 283 thousand. Considering these numbers my heart goes out to all the families who have lost loved ones. As well as all those whose experience with COVID-19 is much more serious. May we all extend our prayers, well wishes, and positive thoughts to them on a regular basis.

A Summary of My Reasons to Be Thankful

By Pro Church Media on Unsplash

So although COVID-19’s unwelcome visit inside our home has temporarily kicked me out of our bedroom. I am cognizant of the many reasons to be thankful. I’ve sprinkled the reasons throughout this story. However, here they are all together.

  1. I am thankful that my husband’s bout with COVID-19 has been mild.
  2. I am thankful that my husband is generally in good health and has no underlying conditions.
  3. I am thankful that my husband never developed a cough.
  4. I am thankful my husband was able to be home during his ten-day isolation.
  5. I am thankful that I and our young adults are not exhibiting any symptoms.
  6. I am thankful for all the daily check-up phone calls, text messages, well-wishes, and prayers from our family and friends.
  7. I am thankful for our special friends who delivered a full meal and a case of bottled water to our doorstep yesterday.
  8. I am thankful for my “not-so-comfy” pull out bed. At least I have a bed.
  9. I am thankful for my favorite pillow.

Often in life, it’s the small things that can make a big impact and a positive difference in our lives. Although COVID-19 has temporarily displaced me from my bedroom. I’ll be back in there soon. And for that. I am thankful. What about you? What are some small things in your life for which you are thankful?

Until the next time…

Much Love & Peace,

Carla Dee

happiness
1

About the Creator

Carla Dee

Using words and at times a little humor to inspire, motivate, and encourage us all to positively impact the world for the greater good of all in whatever way we can! Connect with me: https://linktr.ee/CarlaDee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.