Motivation logo

Allow Yourself the Courage to Believe Differently

See What Happens

By Carla DeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
https://pixabay.com/photos/courage-valor-cutting-word-letters-2050840/

Nineteen months after my ministerial ordination I resigned.

Literally, I found myself unable to ignore the multitude of questions I’d tried to suppress about God, faith, religion, spirituality, church, and church leadership. Because of this, I thought it best to step away from all my pastoral duties and leadership roles in our local assembly.

I hated the cognitive dissonance dance that I’d mastered quite well over the years. I thought ordination would quiet all the questions. For me, it did the opposite. So I decided once and for all to confront instead of avert my doubts. I decided to allow myself the courage to believe differently and see what happened.

The Beginning of a Long Journey

By Matt Howard on Unsplash

However, my resignation wasn’t the end of my crisis of belief. It was the beginning of a journey that stretched out for days, weeks, months, and years. In the beginning. I quite honestly had no clue about how to navigate this crisis of belief. So I started to reach out to other people who’d had similar experiences.

I can’t tell you how nervous I was to even read about people who’d walked away from their former religious belief system. Surely we were all headed to hell in a handbasket. Subjected to a life of eternal damnation because we questioned and had doubts about what we believed, I thought. It was as if my life would never be the same again. But you know what I realized?

It doesn’t have to be the same. And that’s ok.

There are Millions of People Changing their Beliefs Everyday

If someone makes you feel inferior for having the courage to question and re-evaluate your beliefs. Know that you are not alone. In America alone, millions of people change their religious beliefs and affiliations often. According to the Pew Research Center.

In total, about half of American adults have changed religious affiliation at least once during their lives. Most people who change their religion leave their childhood faith before age 24, and many of those who change religion do so more than once.

Faith in Flux

Be Courageous

By Sammie Vasquez on Unsplash

I realized that I needed to have the courage to allow myself to believe differently and to see what would happen. This was the only way to determine what I truly believe and what I no longer believe. Fast forward thirteen years after my resignation and I have joined the ranks of millions of people who have had the courage to believe differently without fear of retribution.

So allow yourself the courage to question and re-evaluate your belief system. Determine if what you once believed, is still what you believe. You just may find that it’s time to release some old beliefs that no longer align with the reality of your current life experience. While adopting new and different ways of believing that better serve you. Consider this,

“We are the sum total of our experiences. Those experiences — be they positive or negative — make us the person we are, at any given point in our lives. And, like a flowing river, those same experiences, and those yet to come, continue to influence and reshape the person we are, and the person we become. None of us are the same as we were yesterday, nor will be tomorrow.” ~B. J. Neblett

So go ahead. If you have questions or doubts about some long-held belief. Allow yourself the courage to believe differently and see what happens. You’ll never know what’s on the other side until you have the courage to take that leap. I imagine it won’t be as scary on the other side as you may think.

And by the way. If you decide to do it (or you already have). Come back and share your experience. I’d love to hear about what happened.

Until the next time…

Much Love & Peace,

CarlaDee

P.S.

If you like what you've read. Tips are graciously welcomed :-)!

Click below to read my story To Thine Ownself Be True...

happiness
1

About the Creator

Carla Dee

Using words and at times a little humor to inspire, motivate, and encourage us all to positively impact the world for the greater good of all in whatever way we can! Connect with me: https://linktr.ee/CarlaDee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.