Motivation logo

TNT

Goodbye 2020; You Won't Be Missed

By Jazmyne Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
BLM Protest June 1st, 2020

287 days, but whose counting at this point, right? Only X amount of days to go in quarantine but who doesn't love the cozy comfort of the same four walls they've been staring at for the past 6,888 hours? My bedroom is tired of looking at me too, you're not alone. 2020 has brought many obstacles far and wide, big and small, local and globally, leaving no stone unturned and no human unscathed. As quick as the new decade came, it was just as quick to relinquish our excitement to start a new chapter obviously having other plans, and for that I can honestly say 2020; you will not be missed.

Your dedication to crushing the human spirit came in full throttle this year, and you did a great job, not only crushing us but pulverizing us beyond belief in the first half of the year. I have to hand it to you, you put up a good fight; taking innocent lives due to police brutality and pushing onto us a disease that sees no end in sight, you really pulled out all of your dirty, inhumane tricks.

I shall be the one giving you the horrible news though, that for me at least, you will not be welcomed into the New Year. The baggage that you have made sure to throw onto me will not be checked or carried on while I soar into 2021, so with that you are more than welcome to resell or refund or regift it to someone else. I will not be taking your racism, your diseases or your bullshit into my 22nd year around the sun.

What I will make sure to keep though is the love and patience you have taught me while I tried to drag you into submission. You have taught me that even in the worst of times there is still love, people who are rooting for me, people who will gladly hop into our fight if I didn't already have it handled, so thank you. You have taught me that it's okay not to be okay, as cliché as it sounds. That more people are going through what I am than I think and that it gives common ground to grow into beautiful, long lasting relationships. I thank you for showing me who is genuinely and unconditionally on my side.

You have taught me that it is completely acceptable that I have no idea what I am doing with my life, because most people around me don't. I have been bamboozled by social media into thinking that I am falling behind, that I am not up to the standards that society wants of me, but I now know that it was all smoke and mirrors because when the world started to end, everyone was in the boat alongside of me.

You have taught me what it's like to truly fall in love with myself and be proud of who I have become. I don't need another person to tell me how loyal I am, how strong I am, how genuine I am because my actions this year have showed me enough about myself for me to understand that I am all of those things, with or without the approval of anybody else.

As much as I resent you for taking the lives of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor, you have showed the world what needs to be fixed, even if most of us were already aware. Our system is broken in America and it is our job moving forward to not only fix it but to live it. To believe in it, to see the America that most Americans would so love to belive is true, but it isnt. This year has shown me more than ever how prevlant racism still is, how for some microaggressions will never go out of style. I have never been nor will I ever be condoning that shit, and this year has shown not only myself but other how little my patience has grown for inconpetence, so thank you for showing them.

As much as I resent you for taking the millions of lives that have died due to Covid you have showed us how coming together in times of need, will always prevail. How people are so willing to give up their own money for the help of others in times of need. How family and friends are taken for granted, and how we should hold our loved ones as close as possible because it could be another 287 days until we can safely see them. (Please wrap it up, I’d love to see my mom soon without the risk of giving her a deadly virus. -Sincerely, Management)

Above all else you have thrown baffonery and bullshit at me through every angle in the forms of but not limited too; breakups, moves, injuries, falling outs, unemployment, you name it, I got it from you, and I still kicked your ass.

So Thank you 2020 you will not be forgotten, but you will damn sure not be missed.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Jazmyne

22 year old gal trying to live her best life in the depths of North Hollywood, California.

Check out my Website for Exclusive Posts :)

https://greenejazmyne.wixsite.com/tnt-site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.