Motivation logo

Tidy Desk = Tidy Mind

A Writer's Tip

By Kate FoxPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Tidy Desk = Tidy Mind
Photo by Pavel Herceg on Unsplash

Speaking from experience we writers can often be a messy bunch (kudos to those who aren't!) but there's one thing I've learned over the last ten years: its always good to have a designated workspace.

In my early years, I spent my time writing wherever I could. Whether that was in the local coffee shop, on my sofa or even in bed, it didn't matter to me.

Although I got some pretty good stuff down on paper in those days, I noticed I was always getting distracted. Sometimes it was something in the environment, maybe a person stopping by to ask me a question or a couple having an argument in the coffee shop, or even the unorganized files on my computer that I'd completely forgotten about.

You know that feeling when you were younger and your mum told you it was time to give your room a good clean? You'd make a good start but then you'd find something that totally dragged your mind away from your true purpose and you'd spend half an hour fiddling with it only to find that you still had an hour's cleaning left to do. Those kinds of distractions came thick and fast before I realised I really needed a clean, quiet place to work.

At the time I was still living in my father's spare bedroom and so I decided I needed to switch it up a little. I brought a desk and the comfiest desk chair I could find. I organised my files on my laptop and made sure everything was set. Then I got to work. It was like the leisure-work switch had been flipped. Before I knew it, I was writing almost double what I could have written anywhere else.

To this day I still write wherever I can. It's not always easy to find a quiet space when you have a two-year-old running around. But no matter where I work, my desk is always the best place!

Top Tips For The Perfect Work Space

Find The Right Place

A quiet room or area in your house, somewhere where the light is good but not overpowering.

Tools

Having everything you need in the right place is important. Anything you need for a good writing session should always be at hand. Whether that's a pen and paper, headphones for background music or even your favourite hot beverage, always make sure you have everything you need around you before getting started.

If you sit down to write and then realise ten minutes later that you're thirsty, you'll cut into your prime writing time!

Cut Out Distractions

If you're like me you'll know that things like social media or even texting can be seriously detrimental to your focus. If you don't need it for research, turn off your internet connection and get off the grid. Turn off your phone if you think your fingers will start to itch.

Good Hygiene

Being clean yourself is an extension of the tidy desk system. Bring your best self to the table and you won't lose focus worrying that you won't be ready for whatever you have planned after your writing session.

Get Your Chores Done

If you're like me and you have a household to run you'll always be worrying about how best to divide your time. Get your household chores done before sitting down to write and you'll know exactly how much time you have left for the real work.

Once you've got all these steps down you'll be writing before you know it!

Happy writing & may the literary gods be ever in your favour.

success
1

About the Creator

Kate Fox

I'm a little bit crazy but willing to talk about just about anything!

I'm a daughter, sister, mother and wife with extensive experience in freelance writing & the author of the fantasy series, The Winterwood Academy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.